Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and ind

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:08 am
rlust offline
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 12, 2009
Location: Ohio

Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and ind

I am getting the following error when starting home bridge:
This was starting ok:

/usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/lib/util/eventedhttp.js:62
let port = this._tcpServer.address().port;
^^^
SyntaxError: Unexpected strict mode reserved word
at exports.runInThisContext (vm.js:73:16)
at Module._compile (module.js:443:25)
at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:478:10)
at Module.load (module.js:355:32)
at Function.Module._load (module.js:310:12)
at Module.require (module.js:365:17)
at require (module.js:384:17)
at Object.<anonymous> (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/lib/HAPServer.js:11:25)
at Module._compile (module.js:460:26)
at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:478:10)

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:12 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 436
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

The latest version of homebridge requires a newer version of node to be installed. I haven't had a chance to play with it yet myself.

You can try:

Code: Select all
sudo port uninstall nodejs
sudo port install nodejs6


But I haven't tested that myself yet.

-Mike

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:15 am
rlust offline
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 12, 2009
Location: Ohio

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

I get the following message when installing:

sudo port uninstall nodejs
sudo: port: command not found

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:16 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 436
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

How did you install nodejs?

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:18 am
rlust offline
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 12, 2009
Location: Ohio

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

NPM I believe

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:20 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 436
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

You'll need to get nodejs upgraded to version 6. I don't know the commands for you to use since you installed differently from my instructions.

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:36 am
rlust offline
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 12, 2009
Location: Ohio

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

I upgraded to node 6.7

now the following error

iMacOffice:~ rc$ node -v
v6.7.0
iMacOffice:~ rc$ homebridge
/usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/mdns/lib/dns_sd.js:35
throw ex;
^

Error: Module version mismatch. Expected 48, got 14.
at Error (native)
at Object.Module._extensions..node (module.js:583:18)
at Module.load (module.js:473:32)
at tryModuleLoad (module.js:432:12)
at Function.Module._load (module.js:424:3)
at Module.require (module.js:483:17)
at require (internal/module.js:20:19)
at Object.<anonymous> (/usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/mdns/lib/dns_sd.js:24:20)
at Module._compile (module.js:556:32)
at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:565:10)

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:46 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 436
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

Sounds like you have a mix of old and new versions.

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:48 am
rehafer offline
Posts: 279
Joined: Feb 08, 2013

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

I had to install the nodejs LTS. (Latest stable version or something like that) I don't have the exact commands in front of me. If I remember, I used npm to install n and the n lts with sudo? Probably best to google it rather than trust my memory.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Sep 30, 2016 10:15 am
rlust offline
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 12, 2009
Location: Ohio

Re: Errors on startup after latest update of home bridge and

I had to run the following script to uninstall node and nom.
https://gist.github.com/mutongwu/c0832c ... fd8bacd6a2

I then installed the OSX LTS V4.6.0 package
Then reinstalled homebridge and it is now starting.

IOS app is still not connecting but I guess I will have to delete all persist info and try setting it up again and remove my home location.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests