2 x plug-in dimmers to be controlled as 1 x "virtual device"

Posted on
Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:29 pm
NicholFD offline

2 x plug-in dimmers to be controlled as 1 x "virtual device"

I have 2 x Aeon Labs plug-in dimmer modules, with torch lamps plugged into them.

Currently I have a trigger that makes the "right" torch lamp follow the "left" lamp when the "left" lamp brightness is changed.

I would like to have a "virtual" (or whatever is recommended) device that represents both devices and allows dimming. I did not see a way to do this with virtual devices. Am I missing something or is there a better way to do this?

Thanks,
Frank

Posted on
Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:50 pm
howartp offline

Re: 2 x plug-in dimmers to be controlled as 1 x "virtual dev

If they weren't dimmable, you could use a virtual device group for this, but they don't support dim levels.

You might be able to use associations here, but I'm not an expert on this - the theory I think is that as well as reporting to Indigo, they talk to each other via association.

How do you set dim level currently? By dimmer slider, or by set amounts? (Evening = 80%, morning = 100%, TV mode = 30%...)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Dec 17, 2015 4:17 pm
NicholFD offline

The touch screens on the wall have our most popular dim levels as buttons (20%, 50% & 100%). There is also a +5% & -5% button. And finally, a single toggle to turn the the "master" torch lamp (the left one) off & on. All of the pre-set dim buttons & brighten/dim buttons only refer to the left torch lamp. The on-screen buttons have the text I put there, not the real device name.

My reason for looking for a way to do this with a virtual is because I just implemented homebridge for Apple's Home Kit.