Sync thermostat settings/setpoints

Posted on
Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:30 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4320
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Sync thermostat settings/setpoints

Yo. (Yes this is 1991)

So i have two thermostats i want to keep in perfect sync, but unless i'm being blind i don't think there's a built in trigger for that.. e.g. If "X changes" as the trigger then "Sync X Device to Y Device" as a thermostat option on the Actions tab.

On a side note i don't suppose anyone has a sample script they do something similar with that i could modify? If so please post it and i'll send you a list of my best jokes..

Sample: Why can't russians wear boxer shorts? Chernobyl Fallout. Ok actually thinking about it that's my only funny joke.

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:30 pm
racarter offline
User avatar
Posts: 468
Joined: Jun 18, 2016
Location: North Yorkshire, UK

Re: Sync thermostat settings/setpoints

Create a trigger on any setpoint change for Thermostat 1 and have this embedded Python code as the action:

Code: Select all
dev1 = indigo.devices["Thermostat1"]
setpoint = dev1.states["setpointHeat"]
dev2 = indigo.devices["Thermostat2"]
indigo.thermostat.setHeatSetpoint(dev2, setpoint)


:)

Posted on
Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:51 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4320
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Sync thermostat settings/setpoints

Oh perfect! I'll try that one out soon. I was trying all sorts of complicated things and just wasn't getting anywhere.. simplicity is key i guess :)

Computer says no.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest