[ANSWERED]: Plugin name as process name in OS X Activities

Posted on
Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:16 am
Vaillant offline
Posts: 105
Joined: Nov 06, 2011
Location: Belgium

[ANSWERED]: Plugin name as process name in OS X Activities

Through the PID number I can identify the plugin when it starts.
It would be handy (monitoring memory) when the name of the process in OS X Activities could be changed from the generic IndigoPluginHost to the name of the plugin.

Greetings,
Adrian

Posted on
Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:30 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Plugin name as process name in OS X Activities

I'm not sure there is anyway we can override what process name is shown. Note you can select a given process in Activity Monitor and via the Inspect window choose the Open Files and Ports tab to see which plugin it is. The first line or so should show the complete path to the plugin (which will include the name at the end).

Image

Posted on
Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:28 am
Vaillant offline
Posts: 105
Joined: Nov 06, 2011
Location: Belgium

Re: [ANSWERED]: Plugin name as process name in OS X Activiti

Thanks for the tip.

Greetings,
Adrian

Posted on
Sat May 30, 2015 7:13 am
brian.vanheesch offline
Posts: 17
Joined: May 05, 2014

Re: [ANSWERED]: Plugin name as process name in OS X Activiti

But you could put the plugin name in the log files:

Code: Select all
Error   process (pid 167) failed to quit after polite request -- forcing it to quit now


or action group/trigger/script/control name:

Code: Select all
Error   because embedded scripts execute sequentially they must complete their execution within 10 seconds.


Since the log file is interlaced (all activities log to the same file in the order they are generated); there is no easy way to figure out which script is falling. Even a runtime instance ID would help traceback the log file.

For example, in the sample below, there are 6 triggers and 1 action group. There is no way to know which event is associated the last INSTEON command.

Code: Select all
2015-05-29 17:22:59.786   Trigger   Mud Room - Door Sensor (On)
2015-05-29 17:22:59.788   Trigger   Last Movement - Mudroom
2015-05-29 17:22:59.790   Updated   "Mud Room (Motion Sensor)" on
2015-05-29 17:22:59.794   Trigger   Mud Room - Door Opened (TimTum Announcement)
2015-05-29 17:23:00.237   Trigger   Mud Room - Door Opened Lights On
2015-05-29 17:23:00.246   Updated   "Mud Room (Motion Sensor)" on
2015-05-29 17:23:00.262   Received INSTEON   "Mud Room (Door Sensor)" on (button 1)
2015-05-29 17:23:00.297   Trigger   Random Lights - Actually On - motion
2015-05-29 17:23:00.298   Action Group   Random Lighting (Actually On)
2015-05-29 17:23:00.372   Trigger   Outside Door - Opened > Start Timer
2015-05-29 17:23:00.937   Sent INSTEON   "Car Park (Virtual Scene)" on to 100


With runtime instance IDs, now there is:

Code: Select all
2015-05-29 17:22:59.786   673254 Trigger   Mud Room - Door Sensor (On)
2015-05-29 17:22:59.788   673255 Trigger   Last Movement - Mudroom
2015-05-29 17:22:59.790   673255 Updated   "Mud Room (Motion Sensor)" on
2015-05-29 17:22:59.794   673256 Trigger   Mud Room - Door Opened (TimTum Announcement)
2015-05-29 17:23:00.237   673257 Trigger   Mud Room - Door Opened Lights On                               <------------------
2015-05-29 17:23:00.246   673256 Updated   "Mud Room (Motion Sensor)" on
2015-05-29 17:23:00.262   673258 Received INSTEON   "Mud Room (Door Sensor)" on (button 1)
2015-05-29 17:23:00.297   673259 Trigger   Random Lights - Actually On - motion
2015-05-29 17:23:00.298   673259 Action Group   Random Lighting (Actually On)
2015-05-29 17:23:00.372   673260 Trigger   Outside Door - Opened > Start Timer
2015-05-29 17:23:00.937   673257 Sent INSTEON   "Car Park (Virtual Scene)" on to 100                      <------------------


Perhaps extend the idea to include parent instance ID? Much in the same way that UNIX manages process IDs.

Posted on
Sun May 31, 2015 5:24 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: [ANSWERED]: Plugin name as process name in OS X Activiti

Improving the logging for these cases is on our feature request list. Thanks for the feedback/suggestions.

Image

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests