User Interface improvements

Posted on
Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:37 am
orangy offline

User Interface improvements

Hello,

I'm new to Indigo, and really like its simplicity and functionality. Great job! However, due to being new to the product may be I can see issues that seasoned users may have used to already. I feel like a little bit of face lifting is needed. Here is my list in no particular order:

* images are not retina-ready. Icons in lists and , "pro" in menus, sunrise/sunset in status bar. They look dirty and blurred.
* buttons in toolbar (new, edit, delete) are not mac-style, see Mail for an example of toolbar with a search. Text buttons are ok, but style should match.
* navigation panel shouldn't have "expand" button (triangle) when group is empty, also check group font style.
* plus sign in navigation panel (create folder) shouldn't create folder immediately, it should popup dialog with create/cancel buttons.
* new device button should have ok/cancel buttons, also it should create device when I finish all configuration, not when I select type of device
* control pages editor toolbar is not mac-style again (more like a Borland style? huh.. :) )
* plugin-provided devices (like timer) should respond to double-click in "state" column and/or inject commands like start/stop into context menu
* in general dialogs are very tight, they need more space to the left and right, less separators and borders (e.g. in z-wave configure dialog)

More to come as I work through the UI to create my smart home :)

/Ilya

Posted on
Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:57 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: User Interface improvements

orangy wrote:
* images are not retina-ready. Icons in lists and , "pro" in menus, sunrise/sunset in status bar.

Agreed, we need to update those. It'll probably have to wait until one of us has a retina Mac (well, I know it doesn't have to wait until we do but it probably will ;-) ).

orangy wrote: