Refreshing URL as variable?

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:36 am
pocster offline
User avatar
Posts: 217
Joined: Nov 15, 2014

Refreshing URL as variable?

Hey all,

I've searched around and can't see how this would be done.

I have a control page with a refreshing camera image ; I wish it to alternate between 2 different cameras (say staying on each for a few seconds; then looping back).

So I have for the dynamic URL :

http://user:password@127.0.0.1:8000/++i ... height=180

If the URL could come from a variable (rather than hard coded) I *assume* I could write a schedule that simply populates this variable with any camera/stream I wish and just cycle around.
Seems a nice simple solution; but can't see how/if the control pages allow that.

Any ideas?

Ta

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:01 am
pocster offline
User avatar
Posts: 217
Joined: Nov 15, 2014

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

Looking through all similar posts this seems like a common request.
Is the only way to somehow have a fixed URL to a xxx.jpg then have a script of some sort rename the camera file name to xxx.jpg each time
That the best and only method??

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:34 am
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 1820
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

+1. Been wanting that a very long time.

Carl

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:43 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 1595
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

Did you try putting a substitution string (%%v:XXXXXXXX%%) in the URL field?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:03 am
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1192
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

Commenting here because if substitution strings work in URLs that would be very exciting.

Also, to the OP: Have you looked at the Security Camera plugin? It can manipulate serving of images that are resident as a file, rather than coming from a camera. Perhaps a bit of overkill for what you're looking to do, but I bet it would work.

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:03 am
pocster offline
User avatar
Posts: 217
Joined: Nov 15, 2014

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

FlyingDiver wrote:
Did you try putting a substitution string (%%v:XXXXXXXX%%) in the URL field?


OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!; that would be magic if it works! - will try it!!!

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:10 am
mat offline
Posts: 518
Joined: Nov 25, 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire - UK

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

just tried and didnt work, but someone else should also check :(

mini 10.11.6 and indigo 7.02

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:40 am
pocster offline
User avatar
Posts: 217
Joined: Nov 15, 2014

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?

mat wrote:
just tried and didnt work, but someone else should also check :(


Bummer!. I will try later - I'm guessing it won't work though otherwise why would everyone do the file copying fudge?! :roll:

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:40 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13043
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Refreshing URL as variable?


Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests