Another Condition Question or Issue

Posted on
Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:00 am
BruceP offline
Posts: 285
Joined: Sep 06, 2004

Another Condition Question or Issue

I have a floor fan used to circulate air. It is to come on every 40 min. during the day, runs for 7 min. I do not want it running when the exterior temp is above 64 degrees. Here are the following conditions. They are listed as follows:

If conditions match rules: any
if Variable, weather temp, is less than 64
if variable, on vacation, is false
If variable, Peak Heating, is false

For temp I am using Weather Underground and Indigo is currently displaying 66.4 degrees in device pane.
Check variable list and OnVacation is currently False
Peak Heating changes duration of fan running at a certain time. Peak Heating is set to false. Same conditions apply to this action.

The fan is still running every 40 min.

I am obviously missing something.

Posted on
Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:51 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18199
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

There's nothing obvious wrong with the conditions. Just to make sure, click the Insert into Event Log Window button above the rule editor on the Conditions tab and copy/paste the results into a reply inside a code tag (to help with readability).

Peak Heating changes duration of fan running at a certain time. Peak Heating is set to false.


You're sure that PeakHeating is always either "true" or "false"?

One final thing - did you at any point copy a different schedule to create this one that might still be running and causing the fan to go on? You'd be surprised at how often that happens accidentally... ;)

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:44 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

If I'm understanding, and there's no guarantee that I am, because you have selected this to run if ANY of the conditions are met, it's running because you are not on vacation.

Try "If ALL conditions are met."


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 6:10 am
BruceP offline
Posts: 285
Joined: Sep 06, 2004

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Code: Select all
 

   "Any" "of the following rules are true"
      "If variable" Weather_Temperature_F "is less than" "value" "64"
      "If variable" PeakHeating "is false"
      "If variable" OnVacation "is false"
 


Peak heating is only true or false
After original post I unchecked the schedules and the fan dod not run.
Will change to ALL. Will have to change temp for the test since it is below 64 right now. Will let you know.
Thanks

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:03 am
BruceP offline
Posts: 285
Joined: Sep 06, 2004

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

UPDATE:
Changed to ALL, additionally set temp set point to 50 degrees (for testing)but Device window is showing 65 degrees and the same thing is happening, fan running.

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:11 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

I don't think the device window would enter into it. If:

Temp variable < 64
AND
Peak Heating variable = false
AND
Vacation variable = false

Then the fan should run. Shouldn't it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:56 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18199
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

How are you executing the trigger? If you're just testing using the Execute Actions Now button, then it's only executing the actions (not evaluating the conditions).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:14 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Another Condition Question or Issue

Are you comparing apples with pears here?

You keep saying "if temp VARIABLE < 50" but saying the DEVICE pane is showing 65 - shouldn't you be saying "if temp DEVICE < 50" ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:14 pm
BruceP offline
Posts: 285
Joined: Sep 06, 2004

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Just letting the schedule do its thing, not forcing it in any way.

The temp in the Device Window is showing the temp via Weather Underground. That temp is what I am referring to in the conditions.

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:19 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

To howartp's point, above you refer to both "variable weather_temp_f" and the device state temperature. In the conditions, you refer to variables and devices differently.

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:16 pm
BruceP offline
Posts: 285
Joined: Sep 06, 2004

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

I would have posted screen shots, but cannot seem to find the way, anyway........

In Devices a Weather Underground station is reporting the temperature.
This temperature is the used to update the variable Weather_Temp_F.
I have another schedule to run that places the Weather Underground data into the variables
When I check the variable list, the temp in Devices is the same as the temp in the variable.

Hope this clears up the confusion.

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:20 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18199
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Send your database to support@indigodomo.com and include the name of the schedule.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:40 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Please do as Jay suggests, but for the future, you can key off the device state directly as a condition--no need to insert the value into a variable first.

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:51 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 6742
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Like this:
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 4.46.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 4.46.30 PM.png (90.06 KiB) Viewed 5451 times


Dave

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:31 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Another Condition Question or Issue

Just wondering - is the 'If conditions match rule' option ticked, or is it at 'Always'?

(Can't remember if you can edit the conditions if it's not ticked)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest