Upgrading from 6 to 7

Posted on
Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:21 pm
canalrun offline

Upgrading from 6 to 7

Hello,
I'm currently running Indigo 6. I have a complementary upgrade license for indigo 7.

I have been putting off the upgrade for more than six months since Indigo 6 just works. I have not touched it in almost a year.

The only problem is doorbell support. I have an Aeon doorbell. It's got problems. I have purchased a contact closure sensor which generates a Z-wave signal that I would like to hook up to a doorbell button and integrate into Indigo. But, this new hardware was not supported by Indigo 6, it is supported in 7.

The biggest problem is that I am a complete Mac newbie. I've developed for the PC for 30 years, but have barely touched anything Apple.

The simplest things stop me cold.

A couple questions before I start this upgrade:

I have the complimentary upgrade license for version 7. Will this license allow me to continue using version 7 forever, until I purchase a new license in a couple years?

In the install documentation (under upgrades from 6) it shows things like viewing and deleting from a directory ( /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7/) How does one find and view this location? Finder doesn't seem to allow a path entry. I think I need something like the equivalent of Windows Explorer.

I have my license key for version 7. Is there anything else I should make sure I have handy before I begin?
Has anyone had trouble going from 6 to 7. My setup is very simple, a few lights with motion sensors, a smoke detector, and a doorbell. They all work in 6.
I don't expect any problems, but if for some reason I want to revert back to 6, is there anything I should do to make sure this version is retained and is ready to go.

Thanks,
Barry.

Posted on
Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:57 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Upgrading from 6 to 7

Just make sure you follow the upgrade instructions to ensure a smooth upgrade.