Mac newbie – upgrade from 6 to 7

Posted on
Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:32 pm
canalrun offline

Mac newbie – upgrade from 6 to 7

Hello,
I would like to use an Aeon ZW097 Dry Contact sensor in Indigo.
I'm still running 6.1.6. I see support for the ZW097 was added to Indigo 7.

I could proceed in one of two ways:
1) Since 6.1.6 has worked flawlessly for a year, and I hate to fix it if it ain't broke, I could stick with Indigo 6 if there is a way to get the ZW097 to work in I6. The sensor shows up as a "routing slave". I think what I want is a "binary sensor". Is there any simple way to transform the sensor into a "binary sensor" within Indigo 6?

2) Probably the best thing to do is to bite the bullet and upgrade to Indigo 7 since I see this new version supports the ZW097. The problem here is I am a complete Mac newbie. I have been working with Windows for 20+ years, but only use a Mac to run Indigo.

Is there a tutorial for upgrading from Indigo 6 to Indigo 7? - Just enough to give me that warm and fuzzy feeling that I'm not jumping ahead with my eyes shut.

What should I expect to encounter during the upgrade process?
What is an overview of the steps I need to perform to have things go smoothly?

I'm thinking really basic stuff – maybe something similar to:

(I write the following using Windows conventions, and I'm just guessing here)

Download Indigo 7 from… to your Mac downloads folder.
Be sure to have your Indigo 7 key (or trial key) and your username and password for Indigo. Get these from…
Stop Indigo 6. From the menu click File – Stop Indigo.
Double-click on the Indigo.dmg (?) File in your downloads directory. This will start the installation process.
(Now I'm really just guessing) It will take approximately 10 minutes to install and during the installation process you will see…
When installation says it's complete, click on the Finder (?) Icon at the bottom and click on the Indigo item in the dialog that pops up. Enter your password.