Page 9 of 9

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:59 am
by koensayr
I think you need the Device ID of the Fanlinc and not the Name of the Device itself.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:07 am
by gregjsmith
koensayr wrote:
I think you need the Device ID of the Fanlinc and not the Name of the Device itself.


The documentation says you can refer to devices by ID or name.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:14 am
by koensayr
Maybe the docs are wrong. Previous posted examples, and code that I'm using does it by device index:

For Example:

Code: Select all
dev = indigo.devices[518185989]      # ID can be found by right-clicking on the device
indigo.speedcontrol.setSpeedIndex(dev, 2)            # MEDIUM

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:21 am
by gregjsmith
I need to get the actual paramaters of the variables, not just the variables themself. This works:

Code: Select all
theName = indigo.variables["FanLinc_Name"]
theName = theName.getValue(str)
theSpeed = indigo.variables["FanLinc_Speed"]
theSpeed = theSpeed.getValue(int)
theDevice = indigo.devices[theName]
indigo.speedcontrol.setSpeedIndex(theDevice, theSpeed)


Note the documentation on variables on the Indigo website is missing the str class method.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:48 am
by gregjsmith
And it's possible to put all of that into a single line.

Code: Select all
indigo.speedcontrol.setSpeedIndex(indigo.devices[indigo.variables["FanLinc_Name"].getValue(str)], indigo.variables["FanLinc_Speed"].getValue(int))

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 1:55 pm
by jay (support)
koensayr wrote:
Maybe the docs are wrong.


No, the docs are correct - you can use either the ID or the name. You really shouldn't use the name however since a simple name change will break all scripts that use the object (like happens in AppleScript). We specifically added an immutable object ID for this reason.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:32 pm
by kw123
how does the fanlinc control the fan speed?
- through a triac
- through switched capacitors

It seems that the fanlinc creates more motor noise than with the build in manual switch. sounds like the motor works harder with fanlinc at lower speeds.

Does anyone have experience with this?


thanks

Karl

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:56 am
by jay (support)
I don't know for sure (probably a better question for Smarthome/INSTEON) - but I have 3 of these on 2 different Hunter models and they don't generate any hum.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:37 pm
by kw123
just FYI: checked with smart home: fanlinc used capacitors to change speed! not a triac.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:46 pm
by trekinsanity
Hello,

I installed a Fanlinc and the fan motor is moving slower than it did w/o it. Is there a way to set (reset) the motor speeds? For example, low=25%, high=100%?

Also, I am following the instructions for " Creating Radio Groups" (https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id ... keypadlinc) and I get the following error: device_name raw insteon command; send failed (no acknowledgment)" I can set status and turn on off. My KPL stats are: V2 Dimmer, firmware 2D (i1 engine). Is it to old?

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:57 pm
by koensayr
Matt would be able to tell you for sure but I believe the 1D firmware is quite old, so these commands may not work on the keypad. You’ll have to program then manually on the KPL. It’s annoying but you only have to do it once.

In terms of the fan speed, if you have a pull chain or any other fan speed control make sure it’s set to the fastest speed BEFORE you put in the FanLinc. Some MinkaAire fans I’ve worked with are finicky about this.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:12 am
by jay (support)
+1 on everything @koensayr said.

Re: Insteon Fanlinc

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:48 pm
by ryanbuckner
kw123 wrote:
how does the fanlinc control the fan speed?
- through a triac
- through switched capacitors

It seems that the fanlinc creates more motor noise than with the build in manual switch. sounds like the motor works harder with fanlinc at lower speeds.

Does anyone have experience with this?


thanks

Karl


I have 3 fanlincs. 2 of them work fine (for about 5 years now) and 1 of them generates a huge amount of hum, only when the fan light is also on. I stopped using the light on the fan after having several electricians verify that I've installed it properly.