Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves....

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:33 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves....

If you don't get the references in the title, it's from Anger Management the movie.

Ok, so my entire ZWave network died except for one device, fine, I overnighted a new Gen 5 stick.

The Gen5 will not honor the Indigo include/exclude at all, I have to do it manually to get it at all - meaning I cannot get encrypted mode and thus meaning I cannot get my door lock back up again

I've linked one of my plugged in ZWave devices to the Gen5 successfully, it's a power adapter, and I can see it in the node list in Indigo so I can re-assign my Indigo device to the device now on my Gen5, however it won't synchronize:

Code: Select all
found module included in controller with no matching device (missing or disabled): 003 - Relay Power Switch
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - started for "003 - Relay Power Switch"
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved module neighbors list: - none -
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - assigning return route to "003 - Relay Power Switch"
   Z-Wave Error                    Syncing - failed to assign return route
   EPS - Powermiser Error          Exception in plug.zwaveCommandAction line 757: index 8 out of list range
                      CODE: cmdF = int(cmd['bytes'][8])

   Z-Wave Error                    Syncing - failed
   Z-Wave Error                    No response from "003 - Relay Power Switch". Module might be asleep, or is unreachable.


So I turn on debugging so I can report here before I literally throw my Indigo server, both Z-Sticks and all my ZWave stuff in the trash because I'm so unbelievably frustrated:

Code: Select all
Dec 3, 2016, 3:29:49 PM
   Z-Wave Debug                    stopping node healing thread
   Z-Wave Debug                    stopping node status polling thread
   Z-Wave Debug                    stopped zwave packet parser thread
   Z-Wave                          connection reset requested
   Z-Wave Debug                    starting serial connection loop
   Z-Wave Debug                    starting zwave packet parser thread
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getVersion: 01 03 00 15 E9
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getVersion: 01 10 01 15 5A 2D 57 61 76 65 20 33 2E 39 35 00 01 99
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getVersion: Z-Wave 3.95 static controller
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getHomeID: 01 03 00 20 DC
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getHomeID: 01 08 01 20 F8 FC 5C 24 01 AB
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getHomeID: F8FC5C24, nodeID: 001
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getInterfaceFeatures: 01 03 00 05 F9
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getInterfaceFeatures: 01 04 01 05 18 E7
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getInterfaceFeatures: 18
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getInterfaceApiCapabilities: 01 03 00 07 FB
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getInterfaceApiCapabilities: 01 2B 01 07 01 00 00 86 01 01 00 5A FE 81 FF 88 4F 1F 00 00 FB 9F 7D A0 67 00 00 80 00 80 86 00 00 00 E8 73 00 00 0E 00 00 60 00 00 FA
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getInterfaceApiCapabilities: supportedFuncIDs: 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 1C 20 21 22 23 24 27 29 2A 2B 2C 2D 41 42 44 45 46 47 48 49 4A 4B 4C 4D 50 51 53 54 55 56 57 5E 60 61 62 63 66 67 80 90 92 93 98 B4 B6 B7 B8 B9 BA BD BE BF D2 D3 D4 EE EF
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getInterfaceApiCapabilities: serialApi 1.00, manufactureId 0086, productType 0101, productId 005A
   Z-Wave                          connected to Z-Stick Plus (ZW090) interface on /dev/cu.usbmodemFD121 (firmware 1.00)
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT forceSUC: 01 05 00 54 01 01 AE
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD forceSUC: 01 04 01 54 01 AF
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getInitialNodeData: 01 03 00 02 FE
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getInitialNodeData: 01 25 01 02 05 08 1D 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 05 00 C9
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getInitialNodeData: is static update controller
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getInitialNodeData: [1, 3]
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getNodeProtocolInfo: 01 04 00 41 01 BB
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getNodeProtocolInfo: 01 09 01 41 93 16 01 02 02 01 33
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:       node 001, class name: Static Computer Controller
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:            class hierarchy: Static Controller : Static Controller : Static Computer Controller (02 : 02 : 01)
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:         base class command: 00
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:   supported class commands: 20
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:     encrypt class commands:
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:                   features: beaming
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getNodeProtocolInfo: 01 04 00 41 03 B9
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getNodeProtocolInfo: 01 09 01 41 D2 9C 00 04 10 01 ED
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:       node 003, class name: Relay Power Switch
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:            class hierarchy: Routing Slave : Relay Switch : Relay Power Switch (04 : 10 : 01)
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:         base class command: 25
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:   supported class commands: 20 25 27
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:     encrypt class commands:
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeProtocolInfo:                   features: routing, beaming
   Z-Wave                          found module included in controller with no matching device (missing or disabled): 003 - Relay Power Switch
   Z-Wave Debug                    starting node healing thread
   Z-Wave Debug                    starting node status polling thread
   Z-Wave Debug                    intiatingSyncUI (timeout in 1500 seconds)
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - started for "003 - Relay Power Switch"
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT getNodeNeighbors: 01 06 00 80 03 01 01 7A
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD getNodeNeighbors: 01 20 01 80 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 5E
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  getNodeNeighbors: nodeId 003, neighbors: - none -
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved module neighbors list: - none -
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - assigning return route to "003 - Relay Power Switch"
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT assignReturnRoute: 01 05 00 46 03 01 BE
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD assignReturnRoute: 01 04 01 46 01 BD
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD assignReturnRoute: 01 05 00 46 01 01 BC
   Z-Wave Debug                    . .  assignReturnRoute: node 003, success 0
   Z-Wave Error                    Syncing - failed to assign return route
   Z-Wave Debug                    SENT requestNodeInfo: 01 06 00 60 03 24 F2 4C
   EPS - Powermiser Error          Exception in plug.zwaveCommandAction line 757: index 8 out of list range
                      CODE: cmdF = int(cmd['bytes'][8])

   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD requestNodeInfo: 01 06 00 49 81 00 00 31
   Z-Wave Debug                    RCVD requestNodeInfo: failed (module asleep or doesn't support command)
   Z-Wave Error                    Syncing - failed
   Z-Wave Error                    No response from "003 - Relay Power Switch". Module might be asleep, or is unreachable.

Dec 3, 2016, 3:30:23 PM
   Z-Wave Debug                    terminatingSyncUI


So, what can I do here to get this working? I don't want to run around and start syncing everything to the Gen5 only to reset it and do it again. I have factory reset the Gen5 to no avail and this device that is failing worked fine on my Gen2 under I6 but for some reason since upgrading to release I7 my ZWave network went from near perfect to total disarray.

It doesn't help my attitude that I'm tired and injured so that's probably making me cranky ;).

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:45 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

All those "failed to assign return route" errors, and the inability to use Indigo to NWI modules I think means one of 3 things:

1) The new Z-Stick you got is a lemon.
2) You have some type of new RF interference messing up everything.
3) One of your Z-Wave modules is malfunctioning in such a manner as to screw up the entire network.

I don't know which one of the 3 it is, but I would lean towards #1. Before you replace it though I would do some troubleshooting to try to rule out #2 and #3.

Image

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:52 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

I unpaired the device from the Gen5 and repaired it to my Gen2 and so far the exact same issue.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:52 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

Actually, given that your entire network died except for 1 device with the old Z-Stick, I might lean more towards #2 or #3.

Image

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:58 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

Wouldn't this be a non issue now that nothing is paired with the controller any longer? I don't have any new RF in my network, nothing has changed in the past week in that regard - or frankly any other regard - around the house.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:00 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

I've never heard of this happening with Z-Wave, but a malfunctioning module could definitely be sending our bad or constant RF regardless of its inclusion state. If it is failing and has an RF transmitter in it and has power, then it could be sending out stuff.

Image

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:02 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

Also try other USB ports on your Mac and any USB hubs. I don't think this is a USB communication problem, but there is a small possibility it could be.

Image

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 6:04 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

How do you even begin to test for interference problems? Go through and remove every Insteon and ZWave wired in device and hope it works? I've walked through my house 5 times now looking for anything new in the past month that runs over RF or WiFi and there is nothing that I can find.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:30 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves....

Check if any other non zwave device is bad. Normally insteon does not interfere with Zwave

I use the 50% method
Switch 50% off see if problem still there
If not flip
cut the 50% in half ...
With 32 devices that's max 4 steps



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by kw123 on Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:38 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

I've been doing some research and Insteon can interfere, they are in similar competing ranges - but it is rare. I've already disabled, unplugged and removed the batteries from every Zwave device I have with zero success. This was easy because I can't use them anyway and even if I could they all have to be re-paired at this point.

Tomorrow I think I'm going to turn off my fuse box one by one and test and see if any zone of my house contains some problem, that might steer me in the right direction.

It is super annoying for sure and is causing me to reconsider the complexity of my HA system, although I'm not sure this is avoidable as long as ANY HA system exists.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:06 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

If it was me, and if I were as frustrated as you sound, I would get medieval on it:

1) Put all phones and tables into airplane mode.
2) Turn off all circuit breakers in the house except the one powering your Mac.
3) Unplug everything from that circuit but the Mac itself.
4) Factory reset the Z-Stick (again).
5) Try an Indigo driven Z-Wave inclusion and sync of a battery operated module within a few feet of the Z-Stick.

If that works, then flip half of the breakers back on, and test the include/sync again (exclude the module that worked in step #5). Continue flipping on/off groups of breakers until you find the offending circuit, then track down the culprit within that circuit

If those first 5 steps don't work, then we are back to square one and I'm baffled. Next steps would be to check outside for mysterious unmarked vans, ask the neighbors if they just built a Tesla coil, etc.

Image

Posted on
Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:06 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

I just realize my suggestion is pretty much the same as Karl's. :|

Image

Posted on
Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:49 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

matt (support) wrote:
I just realize my suggestion is pretty much the same as Karl's. :|


And the one I already decided upon as a course of action :P.

I hadn't considered the vans or the Tesla coils though, now I'm wondering if I'm correct about my assessment about "I'm not paranoid if everyone is out to get me" - those black helicopters have been flying pretty damn close lately....

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:54 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7222
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

It is Christmas light and tree season. Maybe a neighbor has a massive display that's putting out EMI?

A friend of mine's house:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZflLb2bdmc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=el0HW9apz-E

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:19 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 2794
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Goooooosfrabbbbba, ZWave is really getting on my nerves.

Honestly if a neighbor can be putting out that much RF from their Christmas decorations outside then HA is way too persnickety and sensitive, time to go back to manual switches! Besides, most of my neighbors don't really do much in that regard and I would think if that were the case then I would have seen this issue pop up in years past.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

HomeKit Bridge | Device Extensions | Security Manager | LCD Creator | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Powermiser | Homebridge Buddy

Check Them Out Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests