Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Posted on
Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:51 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3364
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

noel1983 wrote:
Eldest son is 16, isn't the biggest fan of the techy home automation stuff, just doesn't 'see the point'.


Disown him. And tell the police where he hides his weed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:53 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

haha brilliant!

It's genuinely interesting seeing his reactions to some stuff, initially, it was "why are you so lazy you don't want to switch lights on"

That prompted the if we don't try and improve things then we'd still be on horse and carts etc discussion!!

Posted on
Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:52 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3364
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Exactly!

Are you sure he’s yours? Perhaps a paternity test? At least if he wasn’t there’d be an excuse!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:11 pm
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Haha actually he's not! Step son!! :)

So its my job to educate them in all the essentials that clearly they've missed out on.

E.g. Thou shalt automate everything and figure out why afterwards

Posted on
Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:13 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3364
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Hehe! That’d explain a lot!

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:17 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

LED installed and working great.

New faceplate in place but still not enough room in the back box to get it as neat as I want. LED is a bit too long.

So...off in search of a shorter 24v led and also going to get a slightly different minigrid faceplate.

Working well though :)

Posted on
Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:48 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3364
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Post a pic when you’ve got it all done :)

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:00 pm
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Of course!! Feels strange to have done something to show others as opposed to my usual following in the footsteps of the many great people on here!!

Posted on
Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:25 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3364
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Hehe yeah.. I’ve got a few projects I need to write up and post too. It’s part of my “get all loose ends sorted by the end of the year” plan!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:51 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Here we go the finished article...until phase 2 anyway!!

All in and wired, led works great. Nice and clear.

So things still to do:

1 - train the family to ‘latch’ the door using the switch not the Yale lock!!

2 - maybe one day in the future I could run wires to the higher level switches and have the led and switch there. Would look cleaner and better visibility but this is more than good enough.

That means combining two outside lights into one switch which whilst useful I need to check the wiring for.

Image

ImageImage


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:55 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Meant to add, massive thanks to everyone for their input
First use of wago blocks! They’re awesome too.

Also found that RS Components are happy to ship a £2 24v led with free delivery :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:26 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 3769
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Nice! Thanks for sharing.

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:35 am
Vangelis offline
Posts: 153
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Southampton (UK)

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

Really nice install!

Regarding ‘phase 2’ - In order to train the family to use the new system you could open the Yale lock and remove the latch switch (if possible). I only say this as you mention your family shy away from using tech :)

Also you could consider using a small module box that sits under the new latch that housed an led momentary switch. With enough cores you could still run to your relay. This would mean the indication is at eye level and next to the lock, where you would normally operate the existing latch.

Do you find there is any ‘play’ in the latch mechanism when locked? Some of them I locked at seemed to have quite a bit which didn’t make me feel confident.

Vangelis

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:38 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 265
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

I’ve been mulling over the ‘training’ and whilst I do need to tell them not to use the old latch I should be able to automate around ever really needing to ‘put it on the latch’ with the switch.

We live in a very safe area and have cats that we frequently let out the front door when they can’t be bothered to use the rear cat flap.

So my thinking is to simply latch the door on wake up, the new task becomes to check the led as we leave. If it’s on tap the switch to take off the latch.

Then I have alerts set up to tell me if the door is unlatched over a certain period of time when I’m not home including a direct url to push to lock it.

So hopefully problem is reduced!

In terms of play no it’s solid. No more play than the old housing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:13 am
Vangelis offline
Posts: 153
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Southampton (UK)

Re: Automate the non moving bit of a lock?!

My OCD couldn’t cope with knowing that my door ‘could’ be in an unlocked state lol

You could add a zwave pir by the door that unlocks the door on movement. Add some time constraints to the logic and it would be fully automated. Just make sure it cannot be triggered externally (air spray cans etc)

I use a combination of Bluetooth with ‘eventscripts’ (by mousedown) for total passive occupancy detection. Even distinguishes between phones.... You can be identified as you come up to your front door without relying on geofence or waking your phone up to join the wifi...

Loving the pics. Always great to see how someone goes about their install

Vangelis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests