Page 6 of 7

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:51 am
by vtmikel
I'm finding that the battery level property is inconsistent in Find my iDevices. When I log into iCloud and check the battery status and level, iCloud seems to have the information correct. However, I created variables to hold these states with triggers to update the variables based on device states and I'm getting battery levels of zero quite often. Anyone else having this problem?

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 11:46 am
by farberm
Any way to change the interval for checking location to be a set time ( 5 minutes). All I see is a minimum of 15 minutes?

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:01 am
by bschollnick2
farberm wrote:
Any way to change the interval for checking location to be a set time ( 5 minutes). All I see is a minimum of 15 minutes?


Maybe in the new version, once I have it ready.

The next version is a completely different architecture, so I have to figure out the best way to do this, without having to rewrite the entire plugin.

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:04 am
by bschollnick2
vtmikel wrote:
I'm finding that the battery level property is inconsistent in Find my iDevices. When I log into iCloud and check the battery status and level, iCloud seems to have the information correct. However, I created variables to hold these states with triggers to update the variables based on device states and I'm getting battery levels of zero quite often. Anyone else having this problem?


I'm sorry to say, but that data is from Apple. Apple returns a value, and I display it. (Same with Charging status.)

So it's possible that we are seeing cached data from Apple's end, and the Find my iPhone from the iCloud web site, handles it differently?

But hopefully v3 will take care of that issue.

- Benjamin

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:19 am
by emergent
Benjamin,
I wanted to thank you for making this plugin. It's working perfectly for me. I've noticed people wanting location updates more frequently than 15 minutes. I did as well, since I'm mainly using it to set my thermostat to "Away" if my wife and I are both more than 7 miles from home, and then turn that off if we're closer. At the 15 minute update interval we could be home by the time the thermostat status updated, so the house would still be warm.

I saw your posts about Apple caching the location data. Well if they were doing that before, they don't seem to be doing it now. I went into the Find My iDevices! preferences file, and changed it to update once a minute, and it is updating everything every minute with no problem. The location, charging status and charge level are all being updated consistently every single time it runs. I've had it this way for over a week now, and I can see my wife driving down the highway updating in real time every minute.

One thing of note is that I'm running iOS8 Beta 2, but I don't think that matters since my wife is still on iOS7.

I would donate some money, but I didn't see a link to do so. I'll also probably email you about a custom plugin I might be interested in.

:D

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 10:18 am
by haavarda
Hi,
I just started to test out this plugin. I have had some small issues.
When I enable the plugin it takes a long time before anything happens after a while it says it was unable to find the update server.

Code: Select all
 Find My IDevices Error          Unable to reach update server.


I am not sure what this means. Is this a check for updating the plugin or updates from the apple server?

I am also unable to update the location manually (from the menu or a control page). This is the biggest problem for me, as I was planning on triggering position updates when something happens...
When I try to manually update position it says to in the event log, but nothing happens. I have set the interval to 1 hour, and this interval seams to work.

Code: Select all
25 Jul 2014 18:16:30
  Find My IDevices                Manual iDevice Update Requested (from Menu)



I have also set the units to km, but it is displayed as miles on the map, Is this something that is familiar?

hope someone that has been using this plugin for a while can share some thoughts on this...

Håvard

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:15 pm
by kw123
I believe apple sometimes does not answer ... When I just flew from Dallas to Chicago it took 3 hours before it got new data but find my iPhone at Apple showed it correctly. I also get the can't reach update server. But that's just FYI. As for miles I can't say.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:53 pm
by haavarda
I have been playing a bit more with the plugin and the result is the same. I can not update position manually. I have never been able to do a manual position update. Only the scheduled position update is working. Anyone that can help with this, or has the development of this plugin stalled?

Håvard


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:55 pm
by kw123
this line throws an error:
Code: Select all
                                          indigo.server.log ("Trigger Error.  Unable to process Trigger, due to bad map point [%s]" % mp_trigger_name, is_Error = True)

:<class 'Boost.Python.ArgumentError'>: Python argument types in
ServerInfo.log(unicode)
did not match C++ signature:
log(CCString message, CCString type='', bool isError=False)
when running trigger without location set.

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:09 pm
by matt (support)
Try changing is_Error to isError.

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 7:56 am
by bschollnick2
haavarda wrote:
Hi,
I just started to test out this plugin. I have had some small issues.
When I enable the plugin it takes a long time before anything happens after a while it says it was unable to find the update server.

Code: Select all
 Find My IDevices Error          Unable to reach update server.


Double check what version of Find My idevices you are using. I just checked v1.715, which is the latest public version and the version check code is disabled for that version. You shouldn't be seeing it checking for the update server.

I am also unable to update the location manually (from the menu or a control page). This is the biggest problem for me, as I was planning on triggering position updates when something happens...
When I try to manually update position it says to in the event log, but nothing happens. I have set the interval to 1 hour, and this interval seams to work.

Code: Select all
25 Jul 2014 18:16:30
  Find My IDevices                Manual iDevice Update Requested (from Menu)



I have also set the units to km, but it is displayed as miles on the map, Is this something that is familiar?

hope someone that has been using this plugin for a while can share some thoughts on this...


That maybe fixed in v1.715.

I need to revisit the FMID plugin, but I am tied up on the energy monitor, and thermostat monitor plugin at this point.

- Benjamin

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:31 am
by haavarda
Thanks for your feedback.
I believe I have the latest version installed:


Håvard

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:34 am
by Jpaction
I just started to receive the following error. I have not updated or changed anything. Basically the error says (DeviceName): global name 'urllib2' is not defined

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:09 am
by VincentS
Jpaction wrote:
I just started to receive the following error. I have not updated or changed anything. Basically the error says (DeviceName): global name 'urllib2' is not defined


I've got the same error sinds yesterday. I tried uninstalling FMID installed it again but I keep getting these messages "unable to reach server"

Re: Find My iDevices! (April 2013+)

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:49 am
by Jpaction
I tried updating to the latest iDevice version and I am now receiving the following error when I try to setup a device.