Thermostat control -- device or software?

Posted on
Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:57 am
Seeker offline

Thermostat control -- device or software?

First question, are we supposed to be able to post new topics in the hardware sub forums? I did not see a 'new topic' button in the thermostat sub forum.

Regarding thermostats, how do you use your thermostat? I have a trane z-wave stat that I've been using for about 2 years. I have always had it programmed with local scheduling. morning set point, weekday work hours set point, arrive home, bedtime, wakeup, etc. I let it run itself and then make overrides via software or my phone or laptop. I set it up this way because at first I did not fully trust my z-wave controller, and i never changed it.

Now I'm thinking about getting a little fancier. How do you handle this? any intelligence in scripting based on actual outside temp or even forecast? Do you use local t-stat control or software control?

Posted on
Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:23 am
jalves offline

Re: Thermostat control -- device or software?

I don't have an answer to your question because I've been wondering the same thing. :D We are building a house in FL and I'm weighing replacing the basic thermostat that the builder will install with something "smarter".

I suspect that those of us who have a nice, predictable life are just fine with a basic programable thermostat. If your schedule is pretty regular there isn't much need to fine tune the temperature settings during the day. OTOH, for those who have a less predictable schedule, I can see the benefit of integrating the heat/ac into a complete HA solution.

Looking forward to other people's comments.

Running Indigo 2023.2 on a 24" iMac M1), OS X 14.4
Jeff

Posted on
Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:22 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin

Here is a post that answers your first question.