RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

Posted on
Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:39 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

I have ALL logging on the RFXCOM running.

Whenever my door bell is pressed I see:-

processing: 6 3 1 5 14 81 84 (06 03 01 05 0E 51 54)

In the Log for Indigo.

How can I trap this event and record it as a Door Bell press, hopefully to then cause the Hue lights to Flash.

Any insight

Thanks

Posted on
Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:11 am
b_weijenberg offline
Posts: 154
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

This is an undecoded message and cannot be used.
This appears if undec on is enabled and a part of the RF message is displayed.
"undec on" should not be enabled in normal use to avoid receive of unusable messages.

Posted on
Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:17 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

b_weijenberg wrote:
This is an undecoded message and cannot be used.
This appears if undec on is enabled and a part of the RF message is displayed.
"undec on" should not be enabled in normal use to avoid receive of unusable messages.


Ok what a pity.

Posted on
Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:22 pm
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 299
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

You could always change your door bell. Certain Byron models are supported, or use a Fibaro universal sensor. I use a Byron wireless door bell to trigger an announcement on a Sonos unit.
Colin

Posted on
Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:53 pm
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

Yeh

I'll look into that.

It was a bonus seeing my Byron doorbell show and a long shot I could detect it.

Posted on
Thu Apr 07, 2016 1:13 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 299
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

FYI the Byron I have is a SX14 model, but any sx compatible should work as I understand.

Colin

Posted on
Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:29 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

I can see Byron56C Wireless Wall Mounted Door Bell for £11.56

That is both a Bell press and a bell.

Reckon that would work?

Mike

Posted on
Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:11 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 299
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

I don't think so, the only ones mentioned in the rfxcom manual that are supported are the Byron SX range, It also has HomeEasy listed as well.

Colin

Posted on
Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:50 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

Sorry

It is the Byron SX 56C

My mistake of omission :-)

Posted on
Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:18 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 299
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

You should be in luck then, worth a shot at that sort of price. One thing I have noticed is the doorbell address does occasionally change, which is a pain, but you might have a different experience.

Colin

Posted on
Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:37 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

OK The Byron SX 56C, well two of them, have arrived.

Confirmed it is a supported Byron SX doorbell.

When I press the doorbell i get

++++++++++++++
RFXCOM Debug processing: 8 80 7 5 64 0 2 4 121 (08 50 07 05 40 00 02 04 79)

How do I trap this as a Doorbell so I can automate other tasks off it?

Anyone any ideas, I haven't connected a doorbell before.

I have turned on the Byron channel for RFXCOM, in fact turned everything on to see if I get a different result.

I can't see Byron in the options for a RFXCOM device the drop down list. Closest I can get is a HomeEasy appliance (same company?)

Posted on
Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:32 pm
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 299
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

Busta999 wrote:

I can't see Byron in the options for a RFXCOM device the drop down list. Closest I can get is a HomeEasy appliance (same company?)


You should see a doorbell device in the drop down menu.

C
Attachments
RFX dropdown.png
RFX dropdown.png (115.99 KiB) Viewed 968 times

Posted on
Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:34 pm
Busta999 offline
Posts: 226
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

colinpartridge wrote:
Busta999 wrote:

I can't see Byron in the options for a RFXCOM device the drop down list. Closest I can get is a HomeEasy appliance (same company?)


You should see a doorbell device in the drop down menu.

C


Thanks Colin, as soon as I added the new RFXCOM plugin from the link you posted, it all worked.

PERFECT many thanks

Posted on
Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:53 pm
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 299
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: RFXCOM detects Door Bell Press - How to trap it?

Glad you got it working.. Have fun.

Colin

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest