ad2usb plugin discussion

Posted on
Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:02 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

scs wrote:
...I understand the AD2Pi can emulate a zone expander on Vista panels, but I haven't been able to verify if my panel is compatible with the type of zone expander that the AD2Pi emulates.
The AD2* will provide expander emulation for all the standard residential Honeywell ADEMCO/Vista panels 15P. 20P, 21IP, 40P and, I think, 50P. I believe it emulates the 4219 zone expander.

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:32 am
scs offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Nov 28, 2014

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

berkinet wrote:
scs wrote:
...I understand the AD2Pi can emulate a zone expander on Vista panels, but I haven't been able to verify if my panel is compatible with the type of zone expander that the AD2Pi emulates.
The AD2* will provide expander emulation for all the standard residential Honeywell ADEMCO/Vista panels 15P. 20P, 21IP, 40P and, I think, 50P. I believe it emulates the 4219 zone expander.


Yah, that makes sense. the 4219/4229 are the only compatible expanders for Vista 20P, and they aren't compatible with the Vista 128.... so I may swap out my panel if I can find a deal on a 20P.
Thanks
scs

PS: on a side note, are the keypad control pages provided in the plugin package just for Demo purposes?, or are they supposed to work? ....they display the status fine, but I can't arm the system with them. (read but no write)

Posted on
Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:21 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

scs wrote:
...PS: on a side note, are the keypad control pages provided in the plugin package just for Demo purposes?, or are they supposed to work? ....they display the status fine, but I can't arm the system with them. (read but no write)
The control pages are provided as examples. Feel free to edit them as needed for your functionality.

Posted on
Sat Jul 29, 2017 3:16 pm
Japple55 online
Posts: 192
Joined: Sep 26, 2015
Location: Florida

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

berkinet wrote:
Japple55 wrote:
...When I manually set the alarm to AWAY mode using the keypad, and then clear it on my return by entering the user code, the display alternates between "Alarm Canceled" and Disarmed Chime - ready to arm." That is when the plugin starts generating the errors, and continues to do so until I re-enter the user code again. At that point, the display only reads"Disarmed Chime - ready to arm." So there is something about the "Alarm Canceled" message that the plugin doesn't like....

That seems likely. It will be a while before I can look at the problem. However, I don't know why you are seeing that message in the first place. It seems inappropriate to the actions you are taking.


Follow-up on this: after more testing, it appears that the "Alarm Cancelled" message only appears (alternating) if the alarm is disarmed by user code shortly after setting the AWAY mode, as in when testing. If I set it to AWAY mode, and then actually leave the house for a period of time, it will function normally and not generate any log errors when I disarm it upon return. I don't know why, or what the minimum time threshold is, but at least now I know it's not really an issue for normal operations.

Jim

Posted on
Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:52 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

Japple55 wrote:
...Follow-up on this: after more testing, it appears that the "Alarm Cancelled" message only appears (alternating) if the alarm is disarmed by user code shortly after setting the AWAY mode, as in when testing. If I set it to AWAY mode, and then actually leave the house for a period of time, it will function normally and not generate any log errors when I disarm it upon return. I don't know why, or what the minimum time threshold is, but at least now I know it's not really an issue for normal operations....
Thanks for the update. I will look into the handling of the Alarm Cancelled message this winter when I am back in the US.

Posted on
Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:05 am
scs offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Nov 28, 2014

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

This might seem like a simple question but I've been unable to find an answer to it in the docs or forum.
What's the character I need to provide when I "write to panel" with a command like L091 (to fault zone 09) so that it gets executed/entered at the panel ?

I have a Vista 20P Panel (v9.1) now , and also use the AD2Pi for virtual zone expansion with several of the Insteon sensors in the house here.
I have a Zone 09 that uses insteon sensors to fault the zone if the garage doors are opened . It uses a Indigo trigger that basically says " If Garage door sensor = On, then [AD2USB Action} Write to Panel "L091" <something is missing at the end because it doesn't execute on the panel, it just sits there



[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS "
V
!VER:ffffffff,V2.2a.8.2,TX;RX;SM;VZ;RF;ZX;RE;AU;3X;CG;DD;MF;LR;KE;MK;CB;DS;ER
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS "
C
!>
!CONFIG>MODE=A&CONFIGBITS=ff00&ADDRESS=18&LRR=N&COM=N&EXP=YNNNN&REL=NNNN&MASK=ffffffff&DEDUPLICATE=Y
!Reading configuration.
!UART init.
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS"
L091 <<<*Entered manually (including a return)*
091
!Sending..done
!EXP:07,01,01
[00000301100000000A--],009,[f70000071009030028020000000000],"FAULT 09 GARAGE "
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS"
[00000001100000000A--],009,[f70000071009000028020000000000],"FAULT 09 GARAGE "
L[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS "
090 <<< *Entered manually*
090
!Sending..done
!EXP:07,01,00
[00000001100000000A--],002,[f70000071002000028020000000000],"FAULT 02 PERIMETER DOORS"
[10000001100000003A--],008,[f70000071008001c28020000000000]," DISARMED CHIME Ready to Arm " <<< *Closed Perimeter door, and opened garage door*
091
^^^ ( The trigger wrote that , but it just sits there since there's no return to "enter" the command)

Posted on
Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:45 am
scs offline
Posts: 18
Joined: Nov 28, 2014

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

scs wrote:
This might seem like a simple question but I've been unable to find an answer to it in the docs or forum.
What's the character I need to provide when I "write to panel" with a command like L091 (to fault zone 09) so that it gets executed/entered at the panel ?

I have a Vista 20P Panel (v9.1) now , and also use the AD2Pi for virtual zone expansion with several of the Insteon sensors in the house here.
I have a Zone 09 that uses insteon sensors to fault the zone if the garage doors are opened . It uses a Indigo trigger that basically says " If Garage door sensor = On, then [AD2USB Action} Write to Panel "L091" <something is missing at the end because it doesn't execute on the panel, it just sits there


I just switched my triggers to to change the state of the Virtual Zones, and everything is working as expected . I open the garage door, and the keypad chimes and displays the Faulted Zone 9.
It would still be handy to "write to panel" though .... might come in useful at some point :)

Thanks for your efforts on this Berkinet,

Posted on
Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:58 pm
dz1rfj offline
Posts: 110
Joined: Mar 13, 2016

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

A quick picture of my plugin settings if it helps anyone. Selecting ADVANCED prevented me from seeing my ADT triggers.
Attachments
ADTUSB.png
Plugin Config settings
ADTUSB.png (110.05 KiB) Viewed 380 times

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:34 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

dz1rfj wrote:
A quick picture of my plugin settings if it helps anyone. Selecting ADVANCED prevented me from seeing my ADT triggers.

Thanks for posting your config. I do have one comment to offer. For most people, it is better to run the ser2sock program (to share the ad2usb over the network) and then connect to the ad2usb using IP. By doing that, you can connect to the ad2usb using other programs at the same time the plugin is running. That might be a telnet session direct to the ad2usb, the ad2usb MonoGUI, or some other software.

Posted on
Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:23 pm
mintzps offline
Posts: 17
Joined: Apr 13, 2010

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

I have a question.
I am getting the following error message:

"AD2USB Alarm Interface Error panelMsgRead: Error:list index out of range"

Any idea what it means?

Posted on
Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:27 pm
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

mintzps wrote:
I have a question.
I am getting the following error message:

"AD2USB Alarm Interface Error panelMsgRead: Error:list index out of range"

Any idea what it means?

It looks like a device is misconfigured. Had this been working, or is this a new problem?

Posted on
Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:27 pm
Professor Falken offline
User avatar
Posts: 126
Joined: Mar 29, 2015

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

Is there any way to see if an individual zone is bypassed, other than on the LCD right after you bypass a zone?

I have a little CP graphic overlay that I would like to display over a bypassed zone (presumably I'd key on a device state for each particular zone), but I don't see "bypassed" as a zone option-- only clear and faulted.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 10.23.47 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-11-15 at 10.23.47 PM.png (35.81 KiB) Viewed 117 times

Posted on
Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:57 pm
mintzps offline
Posts: 17
Joined: Apr 13, 2010

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

I have been using a Raspberry Pi based interface. I think I have seen this error in the log once or twice a day since I started using it. There has been nothing new added to the alarm itself.

Posted on
Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:31 pm
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

Professor Falken wrote:
Is there any way to see if an individual zone is bypassed, other than on the LCD right after you bypass a zone?...

I do not believe the panel makes that information available on the signaling bus (which is what the AD2* devices listen to). There is an initial confirmation at the time a zone is bypassed, and a list of bypassed zones can be viewed at the keypad by entering your CODE+6. Also, all bypassed zones are automatically cleared when the system is disarmed. So, since the panel does not report zones as being bypassed on an ongoing basis, there is no way to track the state of a given zone.

It might be possible to get that information from the LRR (Long Range Radio) interface. However, that would only work for people who did not have an actual LRR installed. Since I have one, I would have to disable it to test, and frankly, I am not sure it is worth the effort. But, I will look into it.

Posted on
Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:34 pm
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2845
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: ad2usb plugin discussion

mintzps wrote:
I have been using a Raspberry Pi based interface. I think I have seen this error in the log once or twice a day since I started using it. There has been nothing new added to the alarm itself.

Without some more detailed logging, I am afraid there isn't much I can do. However, one thing you might do is to open a telnet window to the Pi/Ser2sock and just watch the message stream and see if you can find the incoming message(s) that trigger the error. You can also set debugging in the plugin, but that can generate a LOT of data over a day.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests