Twilio plugin - BETA

Posted on
Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:28 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Twilio plugin - BETA

Download from: https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-Twilio/releases

  1. Get Twilio account info and phone number (see other thread)
  2. Download and install plugin
  3. Configure Plugin
  4. Create Twilio Number Device

Right now, there's an action to send an SMS message. And there are Events (Triggers) to handle incoming SMS messages. You can set the polling interval, or you can use a Menu Action or scheduled action to poll for messages.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:05 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

Just posted v0.0.2, the Mclass release.

Added action to place a voice call, with a selection of hold music for the recipient to listen to. No voice announcement or anything, so be careful who you call.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:23 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

Oops. Forgot to mention, you need to install the Twilio library using pip:

Code: Select all
sudo pip install Twilio

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:25 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

Darnit. Got an initial configuration bug. Hold on...

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:37 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

OK, grab v0.0.3. I think that fixed it.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:57 am
mclass offline
Posts: 119
Joined: May 13, 2015

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

FlyingDiver wrote:
Just posted v0.0.2, the Mclass release.

Added action to place a voice call, with a selection of hold music for the recipient to listen to. No voice announcement or anything, so be careful who you call.


Gosh - I'm flattered. First time I've had a release named after me!!

Unfortunately I'm away from home and office for the next few days, but can't wait to try it out! Many thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:38 am
mclass offline
Posts: 119
Joined: May 13, 2015

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

Hi!

Have finally got back to my ndigo, have downloaded the plugin, installed the Twilio python helper library (pip was a command not found, so I used easy_install instead), but find I get the following error on startup of the Twilio plug in (OSX 10.10.5, with Indigo 6.1.9):

Code: Select all
20 Jun 2016 5:28:54 pm
  Reloading plugin "Twilio 0.0.3"
  Starting plugin "Twilio 0.0.3" (pid 445)
  Twilio Error                    Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 9, in <module>
ImportError: No module named twilio.rest

  Stopping plugin "Twilio 0.0.3" (pid 445)
  Stopped plugin "Twilio 0.0.3"
  Error                           plugin "Twilio 0.0.3" (pid 445) failed to start -- restarti


Tried restarting Mac after helper installation, but without success. I'm thinking the fault may lie in my installation of the Twilio helper package, but I'm not sufficiently (not at all?) familiar with the intricacies of Python - any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Mclass

Posted on
Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:42 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

You probably don't have it installed for Python2.6 which Indigo uses. I would recommend using easy_install to install pip and pip2.6, then using pip to install Twilio.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:23 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

I'm trying to get a handle on how many people are using this plugin. If you're using it, please post a reply. Any issues or requests are welcome as well.

Thanks!

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:35 pm
mclass offline
Posts: 119
Joined: May 13, 2015

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

I'm kinda using it - Over the Twilio helper issue, thanks, but was having difficulties in configuring. Did not resolve this because life (work, family, renovations) got in the way. Hoping to get back to it next week as I am hoping to interface Indigo to a remote cell-phone controller.

One issue (that is not in your domain!) is that Twilio does not offer a single phone number here in Australia that handles voice and SMS. I need voice capability to actuate the remote device, and SMS to receive status information. This means two separate numbers, so may need two "instances" of the plugin?

Anyway, I'll persevere when time permits to get the plugin up and running with just one number to see how we go. I suspect I may be seeking some advice .........


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:49 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

mclass wrote:
I'm kinda using it - Over the Twilio helper issue, thanks, but was having difficulties in configuring. Did not resolve this because life (work, family, renovations) got in the way. Hoping to get back to it next week as I am hoping to interface Indigo to a remote cell-phone controller.

One issue (that is not in your domain!) is that Twilio does not offer a single phone number here in Australia that handles voice and SMS. I need voice capability to actuate the remote device, and SMS to receive status information. This means two separate numbers, so may need two "instances" of the plugin?


No, just two Twilio devices. As long as they both are under the same Twilio account, that is. Which shouldn't be a problem.

I didn't think to check the capabilities of the Aussie numbers when I picked Twilio, I just checked that they had numbers there. Pretty much all the numbers in the US do both. I wonder if there are other similar services that do both in Australia?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Jun 23, 2016 8:04 pm
roquej offline
User avatar
Posts: 267
Joined: Jan 04, 2015

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

Using it. Thank you!

JP

Posted on
Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:13 pm
mclass offline
Posts: 119
Joined: May 13, 2015

Twilio plugin - BETA

Well, as things would have it, I found an hour this morning to have another go.

I have loaded the Twilio helper and the phonenumber packages (I had missed the latter one until I read the README file). I note that I have Python 2.6 and 2.7 so have loaded both packages into each (I think!!)

Twilio plugin appears to load OK, but when I attempt to create a device, the "Model" field in the Create New Device window does not present any models (" - no device type selected -"), and the Edit Device Settings tab is greyed out.

The Twilio number is active (messages can be sent and received from the Twilio console), and I have rentered the Twilio SID and token.

Turned debugging on, but no hints there! Just plugin version check (completes OK - version 0.0.3). Have reloaded plugin, rebooted Mac, but to no avail. Should the event log show confirmation of connection to the Twilio account on starting or "check for new messages" on plugin drop down?

Any suggestions?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:19 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

The only thing I can think of that would cause those symptoms is a corrupt Devices.xml file.

I just pushed v0.0.4 to GitHub. Please use the link in the first message of this thread to download a new copy of the plugin. Don't use the updater.

All other users - some device state definitions have changed - please edit your Twilio devices to pick up the new states.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:31 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 2140
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Cape Coral, FL

Re: Twilio plugin - BETA

And the phonenumbers module isn't actually needed (yet). I thought I needed to normalize the phone numbers for Twilio, but it's not actually required.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest