How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:31 am
thedon offline
Posts: 246
Joined: Apr 01, 2011

How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

I can't figure out to configure this.... The plugin option is just disable and reload.

Thanks

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:32 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

You need to create a device to represent the Harmony Hub. You'll need to know the IP address of the Hub to do that.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 7:13 am
thedon offline
Posts: 246
Joined: Apr 01, 2011

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

I'm not getting the option to create a device....
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 9.13.25 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 9.13.25 AM.png (217.13 KiB) Viewed 4971 times

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 7:17 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Restart the plugin and then post that section of the event log.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:12 pm
thedon offline
Posts: 246
Joined: Apr 01, 2011

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Aug 18, 2017, 5:11:50 PM
Reloading plugin "Harmony Hub 7.1.2"
Starting plugin "Harmony Hub 7.1.2" (pid 208)
Harmony Hub Error Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 9, in <module>
ImportError: No module named sleekxmpp

Stopping plugin "Harmony Hub 7.1.2" (pid 208)
Stopped plugin "Harmony Hub 7.1.2"

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:33 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

You need to install sleekxmpp. Read the ReadMe file.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:47 pm
thedon offline
Posts: 246
Joined: Apr 01, 2011

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Oh this might be a little advanced for me

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:16 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18200
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
You need to install sleekxmpp. Read the ReadMe file.


Out of curiosity, why don't you include it? It looks to be pure python and is licensed MIT so those shouldn't be an issue...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:18 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

jay (support) wrote:
FlyingDiver wrote:
You need to install sleekxmpp. Read the ReadMe file.


Out of curiosity, why don't you include it? It looks to be pure python and is licensed MIT so those shouldn't be an issue...


Dunno. Maybe I should. Running a pip command line didn't seem to be all that big a deal. Maybe I'm wrong.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:08 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18200
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
jay (support) wrote:
FlyingDiver wrote:
You need to install sleekxmpp. Read the ReadMe file.


Out of curiosity, why don't you include it? It looks to be pure python and is licensed MIT so those shouldn't be an issue...


Dunno. Maybe I should. Running a pip command line didn't seem to be all that big a deal. Maybe I'm wrong.


Well, remember, pip may not (probably not?) be installed. So then you have to install pip, then install sleekxmpp, etc. I really wish Apple installed pip - it would make things somewhat more predictable. For instance, consider the following AppleScript:

Code: Select all
do shell script "sudo /usr/local/bin/pip install sleekxmpp" with administrator privileges


That works nicely, and prompts the user for the admin password (I'm pretty sure this is how PyCharm installs packages). That script presupposes that pip is installed, but a more complex script could detect if it was, and if not it could install pip first, then install the module.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:04 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

jay (support) wrote:

Well, remember, pip may not (probably not?) be installed. So then you have to install pip, then install sleekxmpp, etc. I really wish Apple installed pip - it would make things somewhat more predictable. For instance, consider the following AppleScript:

Code: Select all
do shell script "sudo /usr/local/bin/pip install sleekxmpp" with administrator privileges


That works nicely, and prompts the user for the admin password (I'm pretty sure this is how PyCharm installs packages). That script presupposes that pip is installed, but a more complex script could detect if it was, and if not it could install pip first, then install the module.


Is that really any easier than cutting and pasting a command into Terminal? The ReadMe says:

Use pip to install sleekxmpp:

Code: Select all
sudo pip install sleekxmpp
If you get an error not finding the pip command, do:

Code: Select all
sudo easy_install pip


Now, maybe I should just include the package. I really don't think this is all that complicated. But I guess you know the user base better than I do.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:51 pm
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 2533
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Just to give a bit of perspective as someone who is barely comfortable on the command line:

I can easily understand how someone who has lived in the Mac ecosystem for their entire life would be turned off by having to fire up the terminal. I've learned how to get through most hitches the hard way, and it has been very frustrating--quite similar to the experience I've had with trying to run Linux, but just barely enough better for me to have persevered with the former and not with the latter.

I've got just enough skill to realize that when
Code: Select all
$command
doesn't run, maybe I should try
Code: Select all
$sudo command
before I ask how to fix the problem. But I'm by no means someone who understands the response that comes back when I try to install pillow with sudo and get a paragraph telling me maybe I should do it some other way.

Having all appropriately licensed dependencies for a plugin (not just HH, any plugin) install or check for installation when you run the plugin would be super awesome. And would go a long way toward making Indigo more accessible for more people.

SmartThings refugee, so happy to be on Indigo. Monterey on a base M1 Mini w/Harmony Hub, Hue, DomoPad, Dynamic URL, Device Extensions, HomeKitLink, Grafana, Plex, uniFAP, Fantastic Weather, Nanoleaf, LED Simple Effects, Bond Home, Camect.

Posted on
Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:57 pm
thedon offline
Posts: 246
Joined: Apr 01, 2011

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Received this error
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-08-19 at 8.52.19 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-08-19 at 8.52.19 PM.png (218.76 KiB) Viewed 4734 times

Posted on
Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:04 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

Upgrade to version 7.2.0 of the plugin. I added sleekxmpp to the plugin bundle.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Aug 19, 2017 8:17 pm
thedon offline
Posts: 246
Joined: Apr 01, 2011

Re: How to configure Harmony Hub Plugin

THANKS that worked

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests