Cannot enable Alexa Hue skill

Posted on
Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:58 am
madscientist offline

Cannot enable Alexa Hue skill

I've been running the Alexa-Hue Bridge plug-in for several months with lots of Insteon devices. It's been working great...until today. I installed a couple new Insteon switches today, and was having trouble getting Alexa to discover the new devices, so I decided to disable and re-enable the Alexa Hue skill. While I was at it, I upgraded to the latest version of the Hue-Bridge plug-in (v3.0.12), as mine was a few months out of date. Turns out this was a big mistake, as now I can't seem to re-enable the Hue skill, so Alexa can no longer discover any of my bridged Insteon devices.

The Alexa-Hue plug-in is enabled, and I have 5 emulated bridge devices all with discovery on. When I tell the Alexa app to enable the Hue skill, it asks me to login to my Hue account. After logging in, it says "Time to link your bridge. Push the big button on the middle of your bridge. The one you've always wanted to push. Go on. Waiting for bridge...".

The Alexa app tries to discover a bridge for 60 seconds, and then an error message appears that says "Oops. Failed to link bridge. Did you push the button before the timer ran out? Please disconnect and reconnect the power cable to your Hue Bridge. Then retry linking it to your account."

In the Indigo log, lots of errors appear as follows:

Code: Select all
Oct 4, 2017, 12:42:58 PM
   Alexa-Hue Bridge                sent "Hue Bridge - Basement Home Theatre" Discovery Toggle
   Alexa-Hue Bridge                Stop Discovery . . . . . . . . . .
   Alexa-Hue Bridge                Stopping Hue Bridge 'Hue Bridge - Basement Home Theatre' discovery threads as 'Turn Off Discovery' requested
   Alexa-Hue Bridge                sent "Hue Bridge - Basement Home Theatre" Discovery Toggle
   Alexa-Hue Bridge                Starting Hue Bridge 'Hue Bridge - Basement Home Theatre' discovery threads as 'Turn On Discovery' requested