special character problem

Posted on
Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:49 pm
lpraml offline
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 15, 2016

special character problem

hi,

I have devices with special German characters like "ü" in "Küche" (kitchen) - the "ü" is just missing in the alexa-device-name...
unfortunately these devices are then unspeakable in German and even if I try Alex does not recognise my pronunciation...

any chance this might geht fixed any time soon?

kind regards,

lukas

Posted on
Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:10 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: special character problem

Hi Lukas,
I wasn't aware of the problem - I am now. :wink:

I will try and take a look at it over the weekend - it might be unicode related (not one of my strong points!). :)

Posted on
Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:41 am
lpraml offline
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 15, 2016

Re: special character problem

hi jon,

to clarify - my devicename is "küche", in the published device list in the configure dialog it still says küche but in the echo-app it says "kche".

in general alexa works with special characters like that because I have a sonos play5 named "sonos küche" via the yonomi-skill linked to alexa and there it works fine...

thx - have a nice weekend!

l

Posted on
Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:01 am
autolog offline
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: special character problem

I have just uploaded version 2.0.10 which should now handle special characters.

I can see that Alexa now knows about a device called küche on my test system but I either can't pronounce the word correctly or Alexa doesn't understand me, so I can't test that it actually works when I ask Alexa to turn it on. :D

Maybe you could let me know if it works or not?

Thanks. :)

Posted on
Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:28 am
yassi offline
Posts: 341
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: special character problem

Thanks Jon, good to know.

Don't have the Echo Dot yet - waiting for one from the UK - I'm on the invitation list here in Germany since the beginning, but it seems so it goes very slow.
When I get it, I will test it too.

BTW, it seems so, that the Umlauts are a common issue in the plugins.
But as far as you guys can fix it, it's perfect!
Thank you!

Yassi

Posted on
Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:01 pm
lpraml offline
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 15, 2016

Re: special character problem

autolog wrote:
I have just uploaded version 2.0.10 which should now handle special characters.

I can see that Alexa now knows about a device called küche on my test system but I either can't pronounce the word correctly or Alexa doesn't understand me, so I can't test that it actually works when I ask Alexa to turn it on. :D

Maybe you could let me know if it works or not?

Thanks. :)


i will be home again tomorrow and tell you asap. thx!

l


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:56 am
lpraml offline
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 15, 2016

Re: special character problem

dear Jon,

"küche" now works perfect!

thx!

l

Posted on
Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:21 am
autolog offline
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: special character problem

Thanks for the feedback - glad to hear it is working :D

Posted on
Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:34 am
yassi offline
Posts: 341
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: special character problem

Oh, that's good - I will use this when my Echo Dot will finally arrive on Monday (was waiting for 4 months now here in Germany).

Yassi

Posted on
Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:03 pm
yassi offline
Posts: 341
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: special character problem

Hi Folks,

well, I've installed the plugin and it seems so I have also the "Umlauts" issue.
I wanted to name a device "Wandbeleuchtung Büro" and I've got the error below:

Code: Select all
30.01.2017 20:55:15
   Alexa-Hue Bridge Error          Error in plugin execution UiAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 871, in addDevice
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode character u'\xfc' in position 221: ordinal not in range(128)


BTW: can I use the plugin with the German language (to control the Echo Dot)

Yassi

Posted on
Mon Jan 30, 2017 6:17 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: special character problem

Hi Yassi,
Picked up your message as I was heading to bed, thought I would take a quick look and I found the error.
The previous solved Special Character problem was with the device name field, this one is with the Alternate name field.

I have just uploaded a new pre-release version (2.0.11) which should fix the problem. :)

Please try it out and let me know if it works. I'll check back tomorrow (actually later today as it is after midnight :wink: ) and see how you got on. :)

EDIT: I assume you can use the German language as long as the umlaut issue is resolved. :)

Posted on
Tue Jan 31, 2017 12:14 am
yassi offline
Posts: 341
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: special character problem

Hi Jon!

Thank you very much!
I will try it and report back.

Seems so, I can use it so, was not able to discover devices via voice, had to do it via the App.
But the discovered device (with a German name) can be now controlled.

Yassi


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Tue Jan 31, 2017 12:50 am
yassi offline
Posts: 341
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: special character problem

Jon, it's perfect!
Works.

Thank you very much for your quick fix!

Yassi

Posted on
Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:39 am
autolog offline
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: special character problem

Hi Yassi,
Thanks for the quick feedback - I will now make V2.0.11 an official release and announce it accordingly. :)

Posted on
Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:43 am
yassi offline
Posts: 341
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: special character problem

Ok, Jon, thank you!

Yassi

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest