Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Posted on
Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:08 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 1130
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

I just got a dot to try it out - pretty cool so far and your plugin is very cool too! One problem, though, I have added 17 devices to my Alexa Hue Plugin and only 8 are picked up by the dot. I've "forgotten" the devices multiple times and it always picks up the same 8 of 17. What can I post that will be helpful in figuring out the problem?

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

Homebridge Buddy | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Mac Commander | Security Manager | Device Extensions | LCD Creator | Control Page Keypad | Powermiser

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:36 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13362
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

I'm actually not sure how that works anymore since autolog updated it to support bridge devices - I think he'll have to jump in here.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:13 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

OK - I am jumping in :D

I have just taken a quick look at the code and can't see anything obvious as to why some are found and not others :?

Are your devices all defined in one Hub?

Maybe the best way would be for me to take a look at some debugging logs.
If you could turn all debug logging on in the plugin config, stop and restart the plugin and then when it is all up and running, ask Alexa to run a discovery. Once she has completed the task, stop the plugin and then PM me the plugin.log file from the opensource.alexa-hue-bridge folder in the Indigo Logs folder.

I'l take a look at the log and see if I can spot anything. :)

Posted on
Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:24 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 1130
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Well, it would seem that restarting the plugin resolved the problem. I had turned on debugging and did a discover and got the same 8, then reloaded the plugin and discovered again and it came up with all 17.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

Homebridge Buddy | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Mac Commander | Security Manager | Device Extensions | LCD Creator | Control Page Keypad | Powermiser

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:07 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
Well, it would seem that restarting the plugin resolved the problem. I had turned on debugging and did a discover and got the same 8, then reloaded the plugin and discovered again and it came up with all 17.

I have noticed this from time-to-time but it isn't something I have been able to pin down (yet). Maybe it is something not being fully updated when the discovery devices are saved? :?

Did you by any chance add in the 8 devices that were found first and then do a subsequent add for the further 9?

Just trying to see if there is any logic behind what is happening - there usually is. :wink:

Posted on
Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:25 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 1130
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

I think the order that I added things were 1, then 4 then 17. The 1 and 4 worked fine.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

Homebridge Buddy | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Mac Commander | Security Manager | Device Extensions | LCD Creator | Control Page Keypad | Powermiser

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:37 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
I think the order that I added things were 1, then 4 then 17. The 1 and 4 worked fine.

OK - obviously must be something else then. :?

:)

Posted on
Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:24 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

autolog wrote:
OK - obviously must be something else then. :?


It's a bug :oops:

The good news is that I have coded a change that seems too work, and the bad news is that I need to do a bit more testing which won't happen until tomorrow now. :)

The work-around is once you have configured your devices and saved them is to reload the plugin before asking Alexa to discover your devices.

So not a terminal error but annoying none the less. :|

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:14 am
clawmd offline
Posts: 87
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Trying really hard to get this to work (Indigo 7.0.2, bridge 2.0.2)
I have added a device, saved and reloaded the Plugin. In devices I see the device, port 8178. At the bottom of the window under Device Details I see "Discovery: Off." When I ask Alexa to discover devices, I am asked "If you have Phillips Hue, press the button on the bridge." Discovery fails every time, including trying to do it from the app. Not sure what to do now.

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:23 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

If discovery is 'off' then you won't get anything discovered by Alexa. :wink:

Turn on discovery by using Turn On button for the device in the Indigo devices window UI.
It might be necessary to reload the plugin once you have done this?

I have completed the change to the plugin to improve discovery. I am awaiting on some info from Matt / Jay as to how to update Github with the new release. :)
So hopefully it will be available for you to try out before too long. :)

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:24 am
clawmd offline
Posts: 87
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Doesn't seem like anything I do changes the "On State Discovery:Off" situation

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:17 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

OK - The new version should be available before too long (hopefully) so I think the best plan is to install that (when available) and we can take it from there. :)

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:11 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Just released the new version (2.0.7) which is available on Github :)

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 2:39 pm
clawmd offline
Posts: 87
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

Tried with the update 2.0.7, no Luck
Reloading plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 2.0.7"
Stopping plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 2.0.7" (pid 15330)
Stopped plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 2.0.7"
Starting plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 2.0.7" (pid 15392)
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialising . . .
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa discovery request logging enabled
Alexa-Hue Bridge Warning Debugging enabled for Alexa-Hue Bridge: General, Server, Broadcaster, Responder
Started plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 2.0.7"
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialization complete
Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Lights' has one device published
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Lights' web server thread
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Lights' discovery thread as 'Auto Start Discovery' requested
Alexa-Hue Bridge 'new device' has one device published
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'new device' web server thread
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'new device' discovery thread as 'Auto Start Discovery' requested

I can't get any devices to be discovered, and nothing is listed in the log during the attempt to discover devices. Tried reloading, power cycling echo dot, Voice commands as well as through the app

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 2:57 pm
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 1130
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Alexa Only Discovering Some of My Devices

This is going to sound like a dumb question, but the Alexa AND Indigo are on the same network, right? Alexa is WiFi so if it's still in setup mode then it's on it's OWN WiFi network until you configure it.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

Homebridge Buddy | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Mac Commander | Security Manager | Device Extensions | LCD Creator | Control Page Keypad | Powermiser

Check Them Out Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests