HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

Posted on
Fri May 12, 2017 8:58 am
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1320
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

Looking for some help with troubleshooting this. Here's where I am:

I've had a solid HB-I setup running for months.

Bought a Hue Go, added it to Hue bridge no problem, added it to Indigo using the Hue Plugin no problem, it works fine in Indigo. I'm not running HBB.

Stopped and restarted HomeBridge at the command line. As it starts up, I can see that it sees the Hue Go by its Indigo device name "Reading Lamp."

Waited a while for things to percolate to HomeKit/my AppleTV/Home App/Whatever.

And here the problem starts: It never shows up in Home app or Eve. When I tell Siri "turn on the reading lamp" it responds by turning on ALL lights. Except the Reading Lamp!

Ideas?

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Posted on
Fri May 12, 2017 12:12 pm
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1320
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

One more troubleshooting step: I've now restarted my AppleTV. No joy.

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 9:54 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 359
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

homebridge-indigo only works with native devices - it doesn't support plugin devices.

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 10:47 am
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1320
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

ummmm.... I've been happily controlling my Hue lights with homebridge for months. Just this new one that's the problem.

And for clarity: I've been controlling them with hb-indigo because that's the ONLY way HomeKit knows about any of my devices. I have a V1 Hue hub with no Siri.

Also all my indigo virtual devices work with HB-I, as does my Harmony hub stuff.

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 11:14 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 359
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

It all depends on how the device presents itself via the Indigo RESTful API. What does the homebridge log file say?

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 6:43 pm
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1320
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

Hmmm, this is since a reboot for other reasons.
Code: Select all
/opt/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/mdns/lib/dns_sd.js:35
    throw ex;
    ^

Error: The module '/opt/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/mdns/build/Release/dns_sd_bindings.node'
was compiled against a different Node.js version using
NODE_MODULE_VERSION 48. This version of Node.js requires
NODE_MODULE_VERSION 51. Please try re-compiling or re-installing
the module (for instance, using `npm rebuild` or`npm install`).
    at Object.Module._extensions..node (module.js:598:18)
    at Module.load (module.js:488:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:447:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:439:3)
    at Module.require (module.js:498:17)
    at require (internal/module.js:20:19)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/opt/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/mdns/lib/dns_sd.js:24:20)
    at Module._compile (module.js:571:32)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:580:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:488:32)


The super odd thing is when I invoke HB-I, it seems to run fine and shows me this:
Code: Select all
[5/14/2017, 8:40:01 PM] Homebridge is running on port 51826.


Also, further back in the output:
Code: Select all
[5/14/2017, 8:40:00 PM] [Redacted] Discovered Color Lights (Aura, Bloom, StoryLight, LivingColors, etc.) (ID 304277966): Reading Lamp
BUT then later
Code: Select all
[5/14/2017, 8:40:01 PM] [redacted] Initializing platform accessory 'Pond pump'...
[5/14/2017, 8:40:01 PM] [redacted] Initializing platform accessory 'Rear Corner Spot'...
[5/14/2017, 8:40:01 PM] [redacted] Initializing platform accessory 'Recently Added'...

Notice no "Reading Lamp"

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 8:01 pm
webdeck offline
Posts: 359
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

Could you send me the entire log in a PM?

Posted on
Mon May 15, 2017 7:00 am
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1320
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Re: HomeBridge noticing but not working with new device

That actually was the entire log.

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest