Understanding why Room assignment doesn't stick/won't work

Posted on
Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:26 am
Different Computers offline
User avatar
Posts: 1197
Joined: Jan 02, 2016
Location: East Coast

Understanding why Room assignment doesn't stick/won't work

I thought I was dealing with a one time glitch, but it has happened multiple times now, and I can't pin down what's making it happen.

My iOS Home app loses room assignments for devices. They end up back in the Default Room. I can't figure out what triggers this--Is it when my AppleTV does a software update or otherwise restarts? It's not based on my Indigo Mac rebooting, or on HomeBridge being restarted--at least not solely any one of those things. Would it happen any time any one of those things happens?

And is there any way to not have to reassign them every time?

Also, about 10% of devices/actions exposed to the Home app REFUSE to be assigned to a room. Always the same 5-6 devices. I can go to device details in Home, select a room, but the screen refresh after selecting the room still shows Default Room.

Any ideas?

Refugee from SmartThings and so happy to be on Indigo now.
Sierra on an i5 running Harmony Hub, Hue, Security Camera, DomoPad, EPS Device Extensions EPS Smart Dimmer, MatplotLib, Plex, Scale Adapters, uniFiAP, Wunderground.

Posted on
Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:18 am
jalves offline
Posts: 382
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Understanding why Room assignment doesn't stick/won't wo

Glad to learn I'm not the only one who has experienced this. I can't add any good insight as to how/when/why this happens, but its not an isolated occurrence.

Running Indigo 7.0.3 and HBB 0.20 on a headless Mac Mini (late 2012), OS X 10.12.4.
Jeff

Posted on
Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:56 am
webdeck offline
Posts: 341
Joined: May 07, 2005

Re: Understanding why Room assignment doesn't stick/won't wo

I've had it happen to me as well. There is hope that the next major revision of the homebridge server will add support for syncing room assignment, using a future update of the Hesperus iOS app to assign the rooms specified by homebridge (since room assignment is only possible via an iOS app.) This is the thread discussing those future enhancements to homebridge: https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge/issues/1039

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest