Having trouble setting up monitoring of simple GPIOs

Posted on
Thu Mar 22, 2018 9:41 am
six50joe offline

I am using a pi having GPIOs connected to simple dry contacts that are normally closed, to reuse a security system installation in my home.

The breakout board I'm using is an Eleduio T-Cobbler. I have verified that the hardware setup is correct, by running a simple python script that monitors the GPIOs connected to various devices (detecting open/closed works).

I'm new to PiBeacon, and not sure which device I should be using for each GPIO, assuming it should be one of:
INPUT-GPIO-max-1-PINs
INPUT-GPIO-max-4-PINs
INPUT-GPIO-max-8-PINs
INPUT-GPIO-max-26-PINs

What is the distinction between these? I was able to get one device to partially work; Indigo was notified when the circuit opened, but when open, updates continually hit the log for that GPIO, oscillating between 0 (open) and 1 (closed) once a second until I close the circuit again.

When I tried adding a new device with same configuration but having a different GPIO PIN selected (my only choice for channel # is 0), both devices' status behave as if they are monitoring the first pin. I think I was using :
Input Type=Open
Count off/on = regular input

I tried different combinations of these and other params, but no joy.

Kind of randomly, at one point after I ran my own test script at one point to verify the hardware setup, the first device behaved the way I wanted and changed its status once to reflect open and close (without the oscillating). After that adding a new device caused everything to stop working.

Advice is greatly appreciated,
Thanks!

Posted on
Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:13 am
kw123 offline

I suggest to only use the one with a single input device. — the others I added but have never really used.

The multiple gpio input Channels combine several GpiOS into one indigo device ( each gpio gets one state. Input_1 input_2 etc. but you can only show 1 in the state column.