Nest and Additional Temp Sensors

Posted on
Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:50 pm
Dlucas10 offline
Posts: 25
Joined: Jun 22, 2014

Nest and Additional Temp Sensors

Hello!

I came across your plugin and it looks awesome!

One thing I'm wondering, seeing Nest doesn't support multiple temperature sensors (I think they need to fix this), is this something your plugin supports? I have a case, where i need to support multiple temperature sensors that feed into the decision of the temperature. If your plugin doesn't support it, I think it would be a great addition seeing Nest doesn't want to add them..

Dave

Posted on
Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:13 am
Colorado4Wheeler offline
User avatar
Posts: 1129
Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Colorado

Re: Nest and Additional Temp Sensors

If your temperature sensors are integrated into Indigo it would be a simple matter to create a trigger or action group for this. I use the Fibraro motion sensors that also report temperature to achieve this.

My Modest Contributions to Indigo:

Homebridge Buddy | Room-O-Matic | Smart Dimmer | Scene Toggle | Mac Commander | Security Manager | Device Extensions | LCD Creator | Control Page Keypad | Powermiser

Check Them Out Here

Posted on
Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:51 am
Dlucas10 offline
Posts: 25
Joined: Jun 22, 2014

Re: Nest and Additional Temp Sensors

Colorado4Wheeler wrote:
If your temperature sensors are integrated into Indigo it would be a simple matter to create a trigger or action group for this. I use the Fibraro motion sensors that also report temperature to achieve this.


Yes, they are. I was using smart devices to help with this, but it seems to not support air conditioning mode so this summer I had to disable them.

What I'm looking to accomplish is if I have temperature sensors in 3 rooms on my first floor to average those and report to Nest to help make decision to turn on Heat/AC in my house. Where the thermostats are, make it so it's possible to not get an accurate temperature to it. Is this something you're doing in your setup? If so, I'd be interested in how you've accomplished it.

Thanks!

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:25 am
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: Nest and Additional Temp Sensors

Dave

That could be done but probably through a little python code in a schedule action that runs say every min. The main issue is that there isn't an AVERAGE function in the action conditions but it wouldn't be too hard to add a Server/Execute Action

The code would probably do something like this:

Read temperature from Device 1 into a python variable
Read temperature from Device 2 into a python variable
Read temperature from Device 3 into a python variable
Average the temperatures
Check if something needs to happen

In python it would look like:

Code: Select all
import indigo

# Get devices
t1 = indigo.devices[1632080987] # "Living Room Temperature"
t2 = indigo.devices[1167287922] # "Master Bedroom Temperature"
t3 = indigo.devices[476678264] # "Landing Temperature"

# Extract information on Temperatures
Temp1 = t1.displayStateValRaw
Temp2 = t2.displayStateValRaw
Temp3 = t3.displayStateValRaw

# Calculate average
tempAverage = round((Temp1+Temp2+Temp3)/3.0,1)

# Show the results in the indigo log as an example
indigo.server.log('Temperatures:'+str(Temp1)+' '+str(Temp2)+' '+str(Temp3))
indigo.server.log('Average:'+str(tempAverage))

# Now act
if tempAverage>18.0:
   indigo.server.log('Temperature too high - switching on cooling')
elif tempAverage<15.0:
   indigo.server.log('Temperature too low - switching off cooling')


Here's an example of the code in place in a New Schedule Page...

Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 15.21.58.png
Create New Schedule Dialog
Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 15.21.58.png (98.97 KiB) Viewed 303 times


I'm not sure exactly what you want to do but if you let me know I'll try to come up with an action that changes your NEST when needed (and will probably be more elegant than this solution)

Regards

Mike

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest