ECO temperatures

Posted on
Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:43 am
freshwuzhere offline
Posts: 80
Joined: Apr 05, 2012

ECO temperatures

Been getting a rash of errors when in AWAY mode.

Nest has added a new feature "ECO" temps when you set Thermostat to away - that reports a state that can't be interpreted by the plugin.

Like this :-

cannot update device state for key vac_ode to value eco (invalid enumeration value).

It can be avoided by NOT using away and just setting a low temperature - but a little cumbersome in my case where I have 8 thermostats.....

Thanks NEST!

Posted on
Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:45 am
goneoffthegrid offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 11, 2014

Re: ECO temperatures

Yes, this change to create an Eco mode appears to have "broken" my integration to Nest.

When I programmatically set to Away status Nest doesn't enable the Eco temps. And I can't seem to see "Eco" as a mode through the plugin. What do you say Mike, can this be addressed in a new release?

Posted on
Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:39 pm
akimball offline
User avatar
Posts: 343
Joined: Aug 07, 2013
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: ECO temperatures

I'm seeing the same broken ECO mode. Any work arounds other than don't use AWAY?

-Al

Posted on
Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:04 pm
Ramias offline
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 24, 2015

Re: ECO temperatures

Just adding my +1 to this. My log file fills up when I have the Nest set to Away.

Out of town this week but will try to look at the code next week. I took a peak and, well, my coding skills aren't what they used to be.

Nest API is here: https://developers.nest.com/documentation/api-reference if anybody wants to take a look at it.

Posted on
Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:26 am
ZachBenz offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 08, 2014

Re: ECO temperatures

Hi all - here's a homemade patch for the Eco issue. Please note I'm not affiliated with the developer - just a user hacking his way to a fix.

NOTE! This is not a complete fix! Just a quick homemade patch for getting rid of the annoying errors in the Event Log.

To make this homemade patch, you will need to be comfortable with digging around in the XML files that configure the NEST Home plugin. That said, it's pretty straightforward.

First, you need to locate the plugin on the computer running your Indigo Server. These instructions assume you are running macOS Sierra and Indigo 7; the instructions should also work for recent older macOS and Indigo versions, just be sure to go to the right directory for the version of Indigo you are running.

    Open TextEdit, go to TextEdit->Preferences, and disable Smart Quotes
    On your hard drive on your computer running your Indigo Server, navigate to /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7/Plugins
    Right-click the NEST Home plugin and select Show Package Contents
    Within the package contents, navigate to Contents/Server Plugin

You are going to be editing the Devices.xml file. Note that if you just double-click it, by default this will open it in Safari, which is not useful for editing. Instead, you will right-click the file and Open With->TextEdit. It's important you've turned off Smart Quotes because otherwise TextEdit will annoyingly change the " character to a smart quote, which Indigo can't parse. You could also simply Open With your favorite code editor (Xcode, TextWrangler, etc).

In Devices.xml, search for:
<State id="hvac_mode">

And to the list of options under that, add:
<Option value="eco">Eco</Option>

This will get rid of the annoying "cannot update device state for key hvac_mode" errors in your log.

Finally, open up the Indigo client, and select from the menu: Plugins->NEST Home->Reload and check your Event Log for any errors (due to typos, annoying smart quotes, etc)

That's it! Lather, rinse, repeat if you have additional homes you're controlling with the NEST Home 2 and NEST Home 3 editions of the plugin.
Last edited by ZachBenz on Sun Nov 20, 2016 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 2:38 pm
ZachBenz offline
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 08, 2014

Re: ECO temperatures

Note I edited my above post to remove instructions about editing Actions.xml - after reviewing the Nest developers guide for the eco API change (https://developers.nest.com/documentati ... ion-guide/), I realized my suggested change to Actions.xml actually broke things!

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest