Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with Nest

Posted on
Sat Jan 16, 2016 4:06 pm
yergeyj offline
Posts: 259
Joined: Dec 29, 2004

Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with Nest

A quick tip if you are replacing a different brand, Indigo-controlled thermostat with a Nest thermostat, and, like me, have a lot of Triggers, Schedules, Actions and Control Pages that reference your thermostat.

Rename your existing thermostat before installing the Nest Home Plugin, e.g. I renamed mine from "Family Room Thermostat" to "OLD - FR Thermostat." All of the Triggers, Schedules, etc. will be adjusted in Indigo to use this new name.

When you create your Nest Home, a new thermostat will be created. Mine was named "Family Room Thermostat."

Now, you can just toggle through all your Triggers, Schedules, etc. and change the device from "OLD - FR Thermostat" to "Family Room Thermostat."

If you instead delete the original device first, you will also delete all of the Triggers, Schedules, etc. and will have to recreate them from scratch.

If this is too obvious Mike, feel free to delete the post. :wink:

Jim

Posted on
Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:50 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13052
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with

Or, if you just change the type in the existing device to the new plugin device you won't have to change anything else... ;)

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:56 am
yergeyj offline
Posts: 259
Joined: Dec 29, 2004

Re: Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with

Jay,

That would certainly work in most cases. However, upon installation of the Nest Home plugin it creates all of the devices based on what's in your online Nest.com account.

I guess you could let it create a thermostat, hopefully a different name in your Nest.com account than the one you are replacing, and then delete the new "Nest" device, reconfigure and rename the "old" thermostat device.

Jim

Posted on
Sun Jan 17, 2016 9:20 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13052
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with

Ah - I don't have any Nest devices so I've never used the plugin.

Dave, if I might suggest, you might want to change that such that it works more like the Z-Wave interface works (itself a plugin) - allow the user to create a device, show a popup of available Nest devices, and do the right thing from there on.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:00 am
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with

Hey all

Jay - you're probably right but I decided to leave that change until after I upgrade the plugin to use the new NEST Developer tools.

BTW - I know I've been away for a few months in darkest Africa but I didn't change my name to Dave :)

Mike

Posted on
Mon Apr 11, 2016 12:09 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13052
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with

Doh! I think I was just talking to Dave about a different problem and his name was stuck in my head.

Welcome back - hope you didn't bring back any jungle diseases!

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:28 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 3222
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Re: Replacing a Different Indigo-controlled Thermostat with

I do have that affect on people.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest