3 home locations

Posted on
Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:39 pm
maslett offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 09, 2014

3 home locations

Mike,

thank you very much for producing such a great product. I installed it and it works great.

I do have a question. I have three homes, each with multiple Nest thermostats.

One nest account has one home location and another nest account has two home locations. I installed both the Nest Home and Nest Home 2. However with the account with two home locations how do I set each of the home locations to home or away independently when only one Nest Home Master was created.

Many thanks, Mark

Posted on
Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:47 pm
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

maslett wrote:
Mike,

thank you very much for producing such a great product. I installed it and it works great.

I do have a question. I have three homes, each with multiple Nest thermostats.

One nest account has one home location and another nest account has two home locations. I installed both the Nest Home and Nest Home 2. However with the account with two home locations how do I set each of the home locations to home or away independently when only one Nest Home Master was created.

Many thanks, Mark


Mark

Hmmmm I need to think about that but as a quick workaround I could create you a NEST Home 3 which you could run in parallel with the other two. The only change you'd have to make is create a third account on home.nest.com and divide your devices accordingly.

You're right it is possible to run two structures in the same nest account so I'll look at that but that might take a little while. In the meantime I'll post something up tomorrow (it's 1am in the UK at the moment) for you as outlined above. It's a simple update (he says hopefully :D )

Glad it's working for you :)

Regards

Mike

Posted on
Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:03 am
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

Mark

There's a new version of NEST Home available for those of you will three locations/nest accounts. It can be downloaded from here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hz9t2emjeqi9pdw/NEST%20Home%203.zip?dl=0

Before you download it I suggest that you create a third NEST account and distribute your devices between them depending on what you'd like to do.

You'll need to download it and install it as you've done already with NEST Home and NEST Home 2. Imaginatively you'll find it's called NEST Home 3.

Once installed it will require configuration so you'll have to get another API Key for your new home.nest.com site. Once that's done it will install and configure itself automatically. Remember that you can move devices around in the NEST account and Indigo will match your changes automatically on the next refresh.

You an also rename your devices from NEST Master 3 to something a bit more useful like NEST Upstairs. You can also rename your devices as well. Nest and Indigo communicate through a structure code so the name isn't that important. Obviously you can't have two devices with the same name in Indigo.

Let me know how you get on...

Regards

Mike

Posted on
Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:20 pm
maslett offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 09, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

Many thanks Mike. Mark

Posted on
Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:14 pm
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

maslett wrote:
Many thanks Mike. Mark


No problem

Let me know how it goes... It seems stable on my system anyway :mrgreen:

Mike

Posted on
Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:21 pm
maslett offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 09, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

Mike,

Thanks. I loaded in Home 3 and updated Home 2 and Home also. When I did I am not sure what happened but the other two locations stopped working.

I disabled them then re enabled all three plugins which didn't fix the problem.

I then disabled the plugins, stopped the server, closed Indigo and deleted all three plug ins from the directory.

Now however, when I configure each plugin (get the Pin and generate the Auth Key) and save nothing happens.

The directory Nest Home directories are not created and the devices aren't populated as they had been previously.

Should I be deleting any other files or folders other than the plugin itself to do a clean install.

I am not sure what happened. everything was working great.

Thanks, Mark

Posted on
Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:04 pm
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

Mark

Seems like the preferences files have got confused.

This what I'd do.

BEFORE Anything check you have an Internet connection! This could cause this...

Assuming you have...

    Disable the plugins
    Delete any Nest devices in indigo and folders
    Go to /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 6/Preferences
    Delete any files containing corporatechameleon as part of the file name these are the preferences files
    Delete any Nest Home files from the plugins and plugins disabled folders
    Return to indigo and stop the server File/Stop Server
    Run indigo again (restart server)... That resets Indigo
    Download and install each package in turn making sure it's working before installing the next

That should work. If not let me see what's in the event log. We can switch on debugging and try but I've only had this once and the preference files were the problem... It's been running great on my system for 24 hours with three different home.nest.com accounts so I'm sure we can get it going :D

Let me know how it fares...

Mike

Posted on
Sun Jun 14, 2015 8:11 am
maslett offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 09, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

Mike,

All set. I think deleting the pref files did the trick.

Many thanks, Mark

Posted on
Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:15 pm
Chameleon offline
Posts: 611
Joined: Oct 04, 2014

Re: 3 home locations

maslett wrote:
Mike,

All set. I think deleting the pref files did the trick.

Many thanks, Mark


Really pleased Mark. I must talk to Matt & Jay because it's happened a couple of times now but once it's running it normally very stable... Now I've jinxed it :mrgreen:

Mike

Posted on
Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:39 am
maslett offline
Posts: 65
Joined: Aug 09, 2014

Camera's via NEST API?

Mike,

now that the new Nest app is out and they have integrated dropcam (now Nest Cam) it would be great to be able to integrate their cameras into Indigo via the API and your plugin.

Best, Mark

Posted on
Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:21 am
freshwuzhere offline
Posts: 80
Joined: Apr 05, 2012

Re: 3 home locations

Just what I was thinking!!! :D

Posted on
Sat Jun 25, 2016 4:17 am
TOPS offline
User avatar
Posts: 169
Joined: Jun 17, 2015
Location: London, England

Re: 3 home locations

Hi Mike,

Sorry to Hijack this thread, are you still supporting iFindStuff? would really like to get it back up working properly...please...

regards,

Dave

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest