Transfer from smartthings to indigo

Posted on
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:18 pm
Tashyface offline

Transfer from smartthings to indigo

Hi guys, I’m sorry if this has been asked before.
After browsing on fb tesla forum there are folk on there using indigo to control the house and the car. From my understanding you need a plug-in for the tesla, not sure. I’m not computer savvy. Is it easy to go from smartthings to indigo? I’m using zwave, do I need to exclude them from smartthings before I start with indigo. I have no experience with indigo at all, I’m told it is better than smartthings, is this right. Any advise or tips would be appreciated.

Posted on
Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:43 am
howartp offline

Re: Transfer from smartthings to indigo

Welcome!

There’s a number of folk on here moved from Smartthings to Indigo and most will tell you good things of Indigo.

I seem to recall discussion of a Tesla plugin but it’s not made it into the (brand new) plugin store if it exists. I’m a Leaf driver and there’s a plugin for that.

If your Zwave network is already using a compatible ZStick then in theory you can just plug it into Indigo and start adding the devices without excluding them - though I’m sure folk are usually told you’ll need to exclude/include so maybe there’s something I don’t know about Smartthings that changes this logic.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:32 am
durosity offline

Hello!

Here’s the link for the Tesla plugin - can’t say I’ve had the luxury of using it myself (I have a Renault Zoe EV) but certainly other seem to use it successfully:

viewtopic.php?f=182&t=17728&p=150424&hilit=Tesla#p132530

As for the Z Wave stuff yeah I believe you’d have to unpair your existing devices and re pair them with a new Z-Stick that’d work with indigo. How many devices do you have?

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:38 am
CliveS offline