Variables not set immediately (trigger insert state)

Posted on
Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:47 am
ydcl offline

Variables not set immediately (trigger insert state)

Hi.
I'm new to Indigo.
I've Z-Wave device values I can't access directly in AppleScript in triggers (as stated in documentation).
So, I have 2 actions in a trigger, in that order :
- an insert state ('sensor value') into an indigo variable
- an applescript which uses that variable.

But, the variable is not set in the script with the new value : I have to delay the script by 1s (the minimum) to see the variable set
I tried a delay of 0, but it doesn't work.
A delay in the script itself does not work either.
Same result when I tried the same script in an action group called by the trigger (instead of script directly in the trigger).
I just thought the first action (copy) should be (fully) terminated when the second would start.

The annoying thing is that when the script is delayed, the 'current trigger name' is set to "" (or not set without error), instead of the correct name (it is OK when not delayed, directly in the trigger or in the action group).

Am I missing something ?

Posted on
Sun Apr 17, 2016 4:48 am
ydcl offline

Re: Variables not set immediately (trigger insert state)

I add :

I tried with 2 triggers :
- first for the device : copy to the variable
- second for the variable : my AppleScript.

The problem : we can not trigger a variable when assign the same value as the previous value (any value).
For Z-Wave, we have 'Z-Wave Event', which triggers all.

What I want to do is to detect every message from the (Z-wave) device, even if no change :
- get the new value, if any, of course
- ensure that the device is still 'alive' : it is not rare I loss messages (often for X10, but sometimes with Z-Wave)

Posted on
Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:41 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin