Setting volume to 0 after group announcement

Posted on
Fri Dec 16, 2016 11:56 am
rapamatic offline
Posts: 276
Joined: Aug 03, 2015
Location: Glencoe, IL

Setting volume to 0 after group announcement

I have an issue when I play an announcement (file or text-to-speech), the group coordinator speaker resumes playing with volume set to 0. If the same speaker is playing the same music on its own (not as part of a group) it resumes playing again at the correct volume. I think the issue is with the code that gets the volume from the group coordinator. I've attached my full log, but I think this error message may be key to the issue:

Code: Select all
 Sonos                           Announcement: FILE [approaching_front_door.mp3], Volume: 40
   Sonos Debug                     zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: GetGroupVolume
   Sonos Error                     UPNP Error: No Such Object
   Sonos Error                     Offending Command -> zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: GetGroupVolume
   Sonos Debug                     Error Response: <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><s:Envelope s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"><s:Body><ns0:GetGroupVolume xmlns:ns0="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:GroupRenderingControl:1"><InstanceID>0</InstanceID></ns0:GetGroupVolume></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: GetGroupMute
   Sonos Error                     UPNP Error: No Such Object
   Sonos Error                     Offending Command -> zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: GetGroupMute
   Sonos Debug                     Error Response: <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><s:Envelope s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"><s:Body><ns0:GetGroupMute xmlns:ns0="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:GroupRenderingControl:1"><InstanceID>0</InstanceID></ns0:GetGroupMute></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     Announcement: set volume
   Sonos Debug                     Sonos Action: Group Volume
   Sonos Debug                     zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: GetGroupVolume
   Sonos Error                     UPNP Error: No Such Object
   Sonos Error                     Offending Command -> zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: GetGroupVolume
   Sonos Debug                     Error Response: <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><s:Envelope s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"><s:Body><ns0:GetGroupVolume xmlns:ns0="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:GroupRenderingControl:1"><InstanceID>0</InstanceID></ns0:GetGroupVolume></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: SetGroupVolume
   Sonos Error                     UPNP Error: No Such Object
   Sonos Error                     Offending Command -> zoneIP: 192.168.2.36, soapRoot: /MediaRenderer, soapBranch: /GroupRenderingControl, soapAction: SetGroupVolume
   Sonos Debug                     Error Response: <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><s:Envelope s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"><s:Body><ns0:SetGroupVolume xmlns:ns0="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:GroupRenderingControl:1"><InstanceID>0</InstanceID><DesiredVolume>40</DesiredVolume></ns0:SetGroupVolume></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos Debug                     <s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/"><s:Body><s:Fault><faultcode>s:Client</faultcode><faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring><detail><UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0"><errorCode>701</errorCode></UPnPError></detail></s:Fault></s:Body></s:Envelope>
   Sonos                           ZonePlayer Group: Sonos: Kitchen, Current Group Volume: , New Group Volume: 40
Attachments
Announce Log.txt
(183.19 KiB) Downloaded 146 times

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:52 am
nlagaros offline
Posts: 1646
Joined: Dec 20, 2010

Re: Setting volume to 0 after group announcement

The issue here is that the ZonePlayer that you have configured for this announcement is not actually the group coordinator or master for the group. It will not respond to group commands. You have the "Group Coordinator Only" box checked in the announcement If you change the ZonePlayer to be the master, it should work just fine.

Interesting scenario for sure - a bit of an edge case. I suppose I could code around it, but can't commit to spend the time on it right now.

Posted on
Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:00 am
rapamatic offline
Posts: 276
Joined: Aug 03, 2015
Location: Glencoe, IL

Re: Setting volume to 0 after group announcement

nlagaros wrote:
The issue here is that the ZonePlayer that you have configured for this announcement is not actually the group coordinator or master for the group. It will not respond to group commands. You have the "Group Coordinator Only" box checked in the announcement If you change the ZonePlayer to be the master, it should work just fine.

Interesting scenario for sure - a bit of an edge case. I suppose I could code around it, but can't commit to spend the time on it right now.


Ah. I thought I had that as the group coordinator. I just recreated the group and it seems to be working.

What is the best practice or most efficient way to do announcements to multiple speakers? From what I recall it was slower when I had multiple speakers checked off for the announcement action, which is why I did "group coordinator only" so that the plugin wouldn't have to take the time to form a group...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:16 pm
nlagaros offline
Posts: 1646
Joined: Dec 20, 2010

Re: Setting volume to 0 after group announcement

Some good news - I've updated the Group Announcement action to deal with this scenario. Give the latest version (v1.0.2) a shot.

Download here: http://vulture.lagaros.com:8000/wordpress/home/sonos/

rapamatic wrote:
nlagaros wrote:
The issue here is that the ZonePlayer that you have configured for this announcement is not actually the group coordinator or master for the group. It will not respond to group commands. You have the "Group Coordinator Only" box checked in the announcement If you change the ZonePlayer to be the master, it should work just fine.

Interesting scenario for sure - a bit of an edge case. I suppose I could code around it, but can't commit to spend the time on it right now.


Ah. I thought I had that as the group coordinator. I just recreated the group and it seems to be working.

What is the best practice or most efficient way to do announcements to multiple speakers? From what I recall it was slower when I had multiple speakers checked off for the announcement action, which is why I did "group coordinator only" so that the plugin wouldn't have to take the time to form a group...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Dec 29, 2016 8:32 am
rapamatic offline
Posts: 276
Joined: Aug 03, 2015
Location: Glencoe, IL

Re: Setting volume to 0 after group announcement

nlagaros wrote:
Some good news - I've updated the Group Announcement action to deal with this scenario. Give the latest version (v1.0.2) a shot.

Download here: http://vulture.lagaros.com:8000/wordpress/home/sonos/


Working great. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests