Pete's R&D Build Thread

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 12:14 pm
jalves offline
Posts: 387
Joined: Jun 16, 2013

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

Is it the dish that's part of the broadband by RF connection? Or the horizontally polarized yagi?

Running Indigo 7.0.3 on a headless Mac Mini (late 2012), 16G memory, 1TB spinning drive, OS X 10.13.
Jeff

Posted on
Sun May 14, 2017 1:00 pm
petematheson offline
Posts: 569
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

lol it's the dish. They're beaming it from over 10+ km away.
I'm not holding out much hope but they've offered zero cost if they can't get it working!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:54 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 91
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

durosity wrote:
There was this: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/12 ... ing-remote but it's seem there's been a lot of delays.. As somewhat expected with these projects


Just took a look at this and theyve finally started shipping as of August 17th 2017 I think it was. May be worth a look


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:56 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 2992
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

I might, although I’ve already bought Logitech’s harmony elites for the house so they’ve probably missed the boat on me buying anything from them!

Computer says no.

Posted on
Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:13 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 91
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

petematheson wrote:
Remote Control
After a lot of playing around, and actually using SimpleControl as THE remote control for our main living room for a few months now - It fails in one department, and that's unfortunate because it's so almost there. It failed in the grandparents coming over to babysit department, which is frustrating as it only happens once or twice here and there! The iPad is very useful - however it does have drawbacks.
Battery life is one. The best setting I found on the iPad was to switch the screen off after 2 minutes, however combine this with the SimpleControl setting of 'Default' for screen lock - it seems to stay awake until you manually switch the screen off.
After looking around a bit, it seems that I should be able to get the Logitech Harmony Elite remote for around £140 on Amazon if I bide my time. It was £140 on amazon prime day - VERY annoyed that I didn't spot this as I would have snapped 2 up at that price!
So the plan is now to wait for the Harmony Elite to come up and switch over to using that. But for now we're sticking with the iPad and Simple Control.


Image


Out of interest what have you set your skip ads button to do? Aside from the obvious !! Are you assuming xx number of ads at yy length?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:32 am
petematheson offline
Posts: 569
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

Yeah exactly that, it just sent a fast forward command for say 3 minutes of TV.
We used to watch a specific TV show that had a tonne of ads in so we just timed it to exactly how long their ads were and it worked perfectly each time, and generally worked for most shows.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:09 am
noel1983 offline
Posts: 91
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

petematheson wrote:
Yeah exactly that, it just sent a fast forward command for say 3 minutes of TV.
We used to watch a specific TV show that had a tonne of ads in so we just timed it to exactly how long their ads were and it worked perfectly each time, and generally worked for most shows.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Cheers and thanks for this thread, just read through all 30 pages on Tapatalk whilst on holiday and I'm now enthused for next bunch of HA projects :)

Raspberry pi ordered for some presence detection and some led strips are next on the list!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:11 am
petematheson offline
Posts: 569
Joined: Sep 14, 2014
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Pete's R&D Build Thread

You're welcome! I've been lazy and haven't updated it in a while. Might give it a try the next time I get 30 mins to myself!

I'm now using Life360 and Fingscan for double confirmation of the house being occupied vs not. Has worked pretty well for the last 6 months or so.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest