Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

Forum rules

Questions about hardware that can be controlled by Indigo (but not through the interfaces and plugins listed). If Indigo doesn't support some bit of hardware you're interested in, and you don't find a 3rd Party Plugin for it, add it to this forum. Be sure to include links to as much information as you can find about it.

Note: adding it here does not mean we're going to add it - in fact it's possible one of our 3rd party developers may decide to write a plugin for it. We add hardware/features based on a lot of different factors beyond just having a request for it.

Posted on
Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:03 pm
Busta999 offline
Posts: 227
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

I know it is probably a stupid question, but.....

I have a UK zwave connected to my Indigo.

But looking at all the interesting battery/usb powered zwave on Amazon.com - couldn’t I purchase a US frequency zwave transmitter/receiver and add it to my Indigo so I could use all those good things?

I am aware of the frequency difference - and potential naughtiness of using a US one in the UK.

Is it possible?

Posted on
Wed Aug 23, 2017 1:31 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13053
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

No, Indigo only supports 1 Z-Wave network (and you can't mix frequencies in a single network).

Well, unless you want to use a Vera and the bridge plugin.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:19 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 2932
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

What’s the legality of running with US frequencies in the UK?

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:38 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 227
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

I don't know but suspect that you are not allowed to sell something running on an unapproved frequency.

My view is that any effect I have on radio waves by running a US frequency zwave is extremely local.

Is a radius around my house.

So, if I buy a US Vera edge and put a bridge in I could potentially run a cheaper, and more flexible range of zwave products.

I'm just trying to find out if the Veras are universal and can change frequency or locked to each region.

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:58 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13053
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

Just note: the vera bridge plugin only supports on/off/dim devices, thermostats, and locks. It is, however, open source, so anyone who wants to expand that list is certainly welcome to fork it, make the mods and issue a pull request and I'll merge and create a new release.

I agree that it's likely illegal to use US Z-Wave in the UK because of the frequency - it' may conflict with other things on the same frequency or it may be in a band thats reserved for something else. In the US there's an agency that monitors such things, though I suspect that's really just WRT approving a device for sale.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:18 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 2932
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

WRT?

Also looking around it’d seem 908Mhz is reserved in the U.K. for mobile use.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:55 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 2624
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

With Respect To


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:07 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 2932
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

Ahh! Gotcha. I DuckDuckGoed it but there were many different uses of it :)

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:56 pm
Busta999 offline
Posts: 227
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

880-915MHz–Ofcom(fortheFixedand Mobile services)
890-915 MHz – MoD (for the Radiolocation service)

In the UK
So unless you have MoD activities in your house, unlikely to clash.

I’ll keep digging.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:59 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 2932
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

Either that or have some army chaps knock down his door to confiscate the equipment..

Computer says no.

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:01 pm
Busta999 offline
Posts: 227
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

If the zwave is putting out that much power I’m going for world domination!!!!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:09 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 2624
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

Guys.

As well as home automation, I also run 28 sets of Radio Microphones under license from Ofcom, so I'm aware of radio licensing.

A year or so back there was a large televised public event - I can't remember which - but on the morning of the event there was interference on the radio mics.

The technicians called Ofcom who turned up with radio detection equipment - and pinpointed a chap who was using unlicensed radio mics in licensed frequencies a significant distance away, in his bedroom.

The guys equipment was confiscated and he was fined £2,000.

Radio licensing exists for a reason, and licensed users like myself are harmed by those people who think they're above it.

Please don't even consider using US frequency equipment in the U.K. It's not fair and it's not worth it.

http://www.dorsetpahire.co.uk/news/radi ... -it-lelal/

Peter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:18 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13053
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

howartp wrote:
Please don't even consider using US frequency equipment in the U.K. It's not fair and it's not worth it.


I have to agree. You never know what kind of issues you may inadvertently be causing. It's just not worth it.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:55 am
johnpolasek offline
Posts: 712
Joined: Aug 05, 2011
Location: Aggieland, Texas

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

Second... errr third or fourth?, that... especially on or near radiolocaton services, it only takes a tiny signal on a beat frequency to make somebody think they are somewhere they aren't , and if you call down a commercial airliner making an automated approach to a nearby airport in bad weather, a fine will be the LEAST of your problems.

Posted on
Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:17 am
Busta999 offline
Posts: 227
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: Can you have both US and UK zwave running on Indigo?

I hear you.

I didn't understand the range/power of the zwave transmitter.

Does open up ideas that I did not think were possible though.

With that sort of range I could actually ally set up automated processes for my whole street and offer it as a managed home automation service.

If it can effect commercial airplane navigation I could easily run a smal town with a single Vera box.

I hadn't tested it, I just assumed it had a very limited range, i.e. House, not street, city grade.

Should I be worried about the radiation coming from my USB zwave transmitter?

But seriously, you are right, all the same I had not anticipated zwave signals having such a reach.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests