Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Forum rules

Questions about hardware that can be controlled by Indigo (but not through the interfaces and plugins listed). If Indigo doesn't support some bit of hardware you're interested in, and you don't find a 3rd Party Plugin for it, add it to this forum. Be sure to include links to as much information as you can find about it.

Note: adding it here does not mean we're going to add it - in fact it's possible one of our 3rd party developers may decide to write a plugin for it. We add hardware/features based on a lot of different factors beyond just having a request for it.

Posted on
Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:49 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 308
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

maybe this might help, haven't tried it but worth a shot..https://github.com/petele/pyharmony/

Colin

Posted on
Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:23 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3076
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

McJohn wrote:
:D

I'll tell you a secret:
The "trick" is to involve your wive in the HA projects;
- my wive is so happy with her electric blanket: it goes automatic on every evening when the bedroom temperature is below 18 degrees :-)
- and she is also vey happy with her new designed remote control on her iPhone with a picture of her son and greetings of her husband :-)

Regards!

John


ps; I think this hobby is better for your marriage than every night going to the pub...


Not quite married yet.. that’s november this year… *PANIC* :D

Indeed there are a few things that i’ve done that she really likes.. but mostly i get it in the ear anytime i mention anything about punching a hole in plasterboard to run a few new cables..

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Mar 07, 2015 2:50 pm
jooowan offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 30, 2014

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Logitech has a set of APIs now : http://www.myharmony.com/discover/harmony-api/
any chance we get some working integrations with Indigo ?

Posted on
Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:32 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3076
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

The developers have already requested API access for someone to write a plugin around, but there's not been any updates on that since (either because they've not had any reps once or they're under a NDA)

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Mar 08, 2015 12:06 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18008
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

We are still waiting to hear details from Logitech. I've just sent them another follow-up email.

Image

Posted on
Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:24 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13274
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Their latest reply:

We are still in the process of releasing the initial developer apps. Based on this feedback we will confirm the timing to expand API access.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:12 pm
ArthurD123 offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jun 23, 2014

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Any news on this? =)

Posted on
Sun Apr 26, 2015 8:12 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13274
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

We'll post when we hear something.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:36 pm
Juggler offline
Posts: 83
Joined: Dec 17, 2014

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Just updated my Harmony iOS App to v4.x and noticed that there is now the ability to add Smartthings as a "device". Looks like their API is now live... any chance Indigo will be able to become "deviced"?
Attachments
IMG_2314.jpg
IMG_2314.jpg (94.14 KiB) Viewed 1811 times

Posted on
Fri Jul 10, 2015 9:11 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13274
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

They haven't replied yet. My guess is that they're only releasing the API to larger partners - or they built the integration themselves (a la IFTTT).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:11 am
ArthurD123 offline
Posts: 28
Joined: Jun 23, 2014

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

I'm not sure if any of those are using their API or not -- they may just be either internally-dev'd stuff by Logitech or done via a Logitech SDK. That stuff all looks like it's the remote/Harmony sending out commands, not the other way around as you'd expect with the API (ie an app sending API commands/requests to the Logitech).

I am a bit surprised we haven't seen any API apps come to light yet -- as soon as we do, it'll be easy to reverse engineer, and although some have already reverse engineered it way prior to the API being discussed & released, it's very likely that the API they're talking of now is [hopefully] much more straight-forward than what's out there now via reverse engineering (the OAuth authentication stuff in particular isn't very pretty). I hope that once they release the real API, or we see some apps using it, that it's a much cleaner & hopefully REST-ful API. Hopefully JSON-based & not XML, for that matter. :-D

Posted on
Sat Oct 03, 2015 9:34 am
Minot offline
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 20, 2014

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Hi, looks like it's been a couple of months so just checking to see if there is any news on this one.
I'm looking for some sort of universal remote solution for my wife / kids.

Posted on
Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:32 am
Turribeach offline
Posts: 193
Joined: Feb 06, 2015
Location: London, UK

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Hi, just been reading this thread. It seems to me that Harmony Hub is a glorified IR transmitter. What is the advantage of this device compared to something the Global Cache IP2IR? I already use the Global Cache IP2IR solution with the Cynical plugin. I can control my TV, AV reciever, Sat TV Box and any IR controlled devices. The only thing Harmony Hub may appear to do is that it may have the database of IR codes for manufactures preloaded right? I had to "learn" all the IR codes I wanted to use but this is not such a difficult task and it's a one off initial setup task. The Harmony Ultimate provides an interface to control your AV devices but at >£150 it's quite costly solution. I developed my own control interface (see below) where I can control my TV, AV receiver, Sat TV box, etc. I modelled it on the Sky (UK) remote control. The grey buttons control my AV receiver input. The red buttons are channel buttons but perform all the required actions and all the AV devices. So for instance touching Sky Sports 1 does all the following:

- Swtches TV on (if not already on)
- Switches AV receiver on (if not already on)
- Switches AV input on AV receiver to Sky
- Switches Sky on (if not already on)
- Changes Sky channel to Sky Sports 1

I found the solution very reliable and my wife loves the fact that the can now start watching TV with a single touch on her iPhone without having to fiddle with the 3 remote controls and a complicated secuence of actions which need a lot of conditional "ifs" which on the AV devices current state or how they were left.

image.png
image.png (177.36 KiB) Viewed 1443 times

Posted on
Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:15 am
IndigoSam offline
Posts: 106
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Turribeach wrote:
Hi, just been reading this thread. It seems to me that Harmony Hub is a glorified IR transmitter. What is the advantage of this device compared to something the Global Cache IP2IR?


They are both IR transmitters but, potentially though the API, the Harmony could send Bluetooth/WiFi (network) commands to something else. It already is able to control Playstations and Macs this way. The Harmony is also available for £70 right now off Amazon for the non-touch/physical button model, which I actually prefer (actual buttons, not changed the battery yet, no charging station required).

As you say, it comes with all the IR codes built in, so clear winner right?

Except it loses the connection to the Playstation all the time. Indeed, I have now removed this.
You can map any button, but remembering what the 'obvious' button for some function becomes a pain.
Even remembering the long vs short presses for the obvious functions can be a pain.

Depends on the angle really. If you want a normal remote that controls the right things depending on activity selected the idea of it sending a message to Indigo (say, dim the lights), it is quite attractive. I've briefly looked at Remote Buddy to bridge this gap. What I like about this is not having to keep a charged 'phone near the TV.

The Harmony has a 'phone app that also connects. But it is really bad and has not customisation (it is basically the same as the touch screen on the more expensive Harmony).

If you want control of this front end and want Indigo to push out the commands, the way you have gone is definitely best.

The other thing is that the Harmony holds current state. The state would need to be kept in sync between Harmony and Indigo to have a mix of Indigo control pages and the Harmony remote working together. This would be quite interesting to get working if this API ever happens.

Finally, the Global Cache units are much better build quality than the Harmony hub.

Sam.

Posted on
Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:46 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 308
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: Logitech Harmony Ultimate Hub connecting to Indigo?

Turribeach wrote:
I found the solution very reliable and my wife loves the fact that the can now start watching TV with a single touch on her iPhone without having to fiddle with the 3 remote controls and a complicated secuence of actions which need a lot of conditional "ifs" which on the AV devices current state or how they were left.


The reason I use the Harmony Smart hub is the physical remote. it means that anyone can use any of the AV systems in the house with exactly the same remote, even if the equipment is different, . The only time I ever use the harmony app is to add or change a oiece of equipment. The price at the moment is very good.

Colin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest