Control of existing lighting

Posted on
Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:56 am
trevorsmith offline

Control of existing lighting

So I dont need to replace all of my many recessed light bulbs could I just install something like this
Z-Wave Qubino Flush 1D Relay in the ceiling space? My lights (as is prevalent in the UK) are wired on the end of a 1A cable coming radially from the fuse box. Switching the whole lot on and off at will would be a cinch if there is a device like this that is suitable. Thanks.

Posted on
Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:12 am
Different Computers offline

Re: Control of existing lighting

I'm no wiring expert so I won't comment on the specific feasibility of what you want to do, but I'll say that given the choice between non-color-changing smart bulbs and dumb white bulbs connected to a smart switch, I'll always go with the latter.

Smart bulbs are great for when you need color changing, for when you have no neutrals, and for when you aren't able to put in a new smart switch. Otherwise, they're annoying because turning them off at the switch kills their controllability, and for most bulbs, if you lose power, they all pop back on at full brightness when the power comes back on.

Plus in your case it sounds like one smart switch for <$70, vs. multiple $25 bulbs.

SmartThings refugee, so happy to be on Indigo. Monterey on a base M1 Mini w/Harmony Hub, Hue, DomoPad, Dynamic URL, Device Extensions, HomeKitLink, Grafana, Plex, uniFAP, Fantastic Weather, Nanoleaf, LED Simple Effects, Bond Home, Camect.

Posted on
Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:27 am
trevorsmith offline

yes - agreed. thanks for replying. just swapped PMs with Vesternet who pointed me in the right direction. I'll report back on success or otherwise

Posted on
Thu Sep 21, 2017 6:14 am
yassi offline

That's what I need too, like Trevor.

I have a ceiling lamp with 5 LED bulbs which I want to integrate into my Indigo.
The question is if it's not easier to replace the wall-switch instead adding a Qubino switch?