Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Posted on
Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:55 pm
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

A plugin to control the Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch is now available in the User Contribution Library. Overview as follows:

The AVIOSYS IP9258 is a 4 outlet power distribution switch that allows
individual outlets to be switched on & off remotely via a wired Ethernet
connection. This plugin extends the Perceptive Automation Indigo Mac
home automation application to support the IP9258 and allow each outlet
to be configured and controlled as a separate device. Models supporting
UK, European & US power outlets are available.

I’ve used these to replace X10 appliance modules where a number of
devices need to be controlled within a small area (e.g. behind the TV)
or where the devices being switched require a higher degree of
reliability than can be achieved using X10.

Although having been a "lurker" in this forum since the Indigo 3 days, this is my first post, first plugin & first Python program of any size, so please be gentle! :-)

Posted on
Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:10 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18006
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Hi Nick,

Welcome to the forum. I updated your original post to directly link to the plugin on the file library.

Thanks for the plugin contribution!

Image

Posted on
Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:22 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 13274
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Awesome plugin! Thanks for sharing.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:32 am
durosity online
User avatar
Posts: 3075
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Hey,

I just noticed on your documentation for the plugin there was a revision for v1.1 but any time I download the plugin from your website or the user contributions page I just get the v1.0.. don’t suppose you could upload the latest revision? (I’ve not got a IP9258 yet but planning to get one soon.. trying to get everything in place for it first :) )

Thanks

Mike

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:18 am
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Sorry Mike - my bad: updated version on my website now. Was testing it before pushing it out to a wider audience & slipped my mind!

Regards

Nick

Posted on
Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:22 am
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

... and I guess it would have been helpful to have published a link here too!

http://www.nickandmeryl.com/software/IP9258.html

Posted on
Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:30 am
durosity online
User avatar
Posts: 3075
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Great, thanks! Like i said i have no use for it right now but thought it might be handy for those who do use it.. roll on me getting a house big enough i can get my server rack built again and have room for these things :D

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:20 pm
ethanw offline

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

This plugging does not work for me. I am running 6 with plugin 1.1
This is what I get


IP9258 Error Error: received unexpected response "<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
<script LANGUAGE="JavaScript" TYPE="text/JavaScript">
<!--
function MM_goToURL() { //v3.0
var i, args=MM_goToURL.arguments; document.MM_returnValue = false;
for (i=0; i<(args.length-1); i+=2) eval(args[i]+".location='"+args[i+1]+"'");
}
//-->
</script>
<title></title>
</head>
<body>
<table BORDER="0" ALIGN="left" WIDTH="172">
<tr>
<td WIDTH="166">
<table WIDTH="99%" BORDER="0" ALIGN="left" CELLPADDING="10"
CELLSPACING="0">
<tr BGCOLOR="#FF0033">
<td VALIGN="top" WIDTH="100%">
<div ALIGN="center">
<p ALIGN="center"><font COLOR="#FFFFFF">Cookie Time
Out</font></p></div></td></tr></table></td></tr>
<tr>
<td COLSPAN="3" NOWRAP>
<div ALIGN="center"><input NAME="Submit3" TYPE="submit"
ONCLICK="MM_goToURL('top','/');return document.MM_returnValue"
VALUE="Re Login"></div></td></tr></table>
</body>
</html>
"
IP9258 Error Error: PDU POWER in unknown state

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:17 am
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Hi - which version of the switch do you have? At the bottom of the IP9258 setup screen the software version is shown. Mine reads:

Release Version: V4.01 2012/04/13

Also, what were you trying to ask the switch to do when you got that error?

Thanks

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:55 am
ethanw offline

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

V 1.56 2010/01/25
I am that behind? Where do you get the firmware for those things?


NickSmith wrote:
Hi - which version of the switch do you have? At the bottom of the IP9258 setup screen the software version is shown. Mine reads:

Release Version: V4.01 2012/04/13

Also, what were you trying to ask the switch to do when you got that error?

Thanks

Posted on
Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:54 pm
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Hi - in theory http://www.aviosys.com/updates.html but clicking on the link for the IP9258S takes you to a firmware request form:

For the corresponding Firmware that you are looking for, contact Aviosys at Service@Aviosys.com or Service@Aviosys.com.tw

Please include the following information:
1.) Name;
2.) Device Model Number:
3.) Current Firmware version:
4.) Serial Number:
5.) Operating System Version (WIndows XP, Vista, 7, Linux):

Someone from the service department will promptly assist you with your inquiry.


Hope that helps

Posted on
Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:00 am
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Hi - I've had a quick look at this over Easter & have put together a test version of the plugin which allows it to choose to ignore the responses to the getPower command, which looks like it could be the problem with your version of firmware.

The plugin is at https://www.dropbox.com/sh/gikxutj2v30n6yj/CkgMdmS9tw/Test%20Plugin. When you try it, you'll need to go into the plugin's Configure menu & select both options (i.e. turn debugging on as well). If you could reply with the results of your test it'd be appreciated as it's rather hard to debug something if you're not experiencing the same problem!

Thanks

Regards

Nick

Posted on
Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:46 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2001
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Thanks for a great plugin :)

I just though I would pass on the info that I have the plugin working with the IP 9258UK (which has UK sockets thereby avoids any converter sockets).

When I was originally looking at this device, it didn't leap out to me that there was a UK specific version. I couldn't see it on amazon.uk - I got mine from here but even on this site it appears to be difficult to find. This version has a button per socket which can be used to physically operate the socket.

Posted on
Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:28 am
NickSmith offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 28, 2012
Location: UK

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Great stuff - glad you find it useful! Thanks for the link to the new UK version of the switch: that was the retailer I'd used to purchase the ones I have with IEC sockets from so useful to know in case I need to buy another.

Posted on
Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:15 am
berkinet offline
User avatar
Posts: 2852
Joined: Nov 18, 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA & Mougins, France

Re: Plugin for Aviosys IP9258 IP power switch now available

Thanks for a very useful plugin. I have played a bit with it and will send you some ideas in a PM.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests