Google Latitude Integration

Posted on
Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:20 pm
panghy offline

Google Latitude Integration

I am new to Indigo (new as in still on the trial license new :) ) but I just submitted my first plugin that integrates with Google Latitude, creating variables representing the distance (in kms), latitude and longitude of each user (you can define as many users as you want). You can find it on http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/filelib/index.php filed under Application Integration.

It requires registering and creating a unique URL on https://latitudebridge.appspot.com which allows you to have a single curl-able URL to fetch the current best location of a user (the app supports iPhone, Blackberry and Android at least, see http://www.google.com/mobile/latitude/).

Now, I can finally have it send me an email when the garage door is open while I am away. It also turns off unnecessary lights when I am away for an extended period of time. Technically, you can activate your vacation schedule when you are gone too. :)

P.S. The script has been updated to add some try .. end try blocks to prevent connectivity issues from killing the repeat loop. That should be up in a bit (pending the admins to update the page).

Posted on
Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:54 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Google Latitude Integration

The new script is now available in the File Library.

Just to clarify - this isn't a plugin, it's an AppleScript (and I'll move this entire thread over to the User Contributions forum in a bit). Not a big deal, just want to set the right expectations.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:55 pm
MrJeffreyGee offline

Thanks for posting this. I've been looking for something like this for a while. I setup several geofences and it works well with them for arriving and leaving the fenced area.