compare temps

Posted on
Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:18 am
cdeggz offline

compare temps

Trying to get indigo setup to do some commands when the outside temperature is colder than inside (shut off ac, start fan).

Looks like I can easily trigger with a weather snoop temperature changes above some set constant

Looks like I can also trigger based off the inside temperature relative to some content

Not sure how to trigger from one (nest plugin) to the other (weather snoop plugin)

I assume I could just do this with an Applescript. Is there an easy way to dig through all the available property names? I'm a beginner to AppleScript language (but have done a lot of programming).

Posted on
Sun Jul 05, 2015 4:27 am
DaveL17 offline

Re: compare temps

For custom plugin devices, you can see a list of all of the custom states directly below the device details window. Select the plugin device, and then right-click on the custom state and select the information you want. There's not a "Copy AppleScript Reference" option, but you should be able to infer pretty easily from the information that's there.

I'd strongly encourage you to use Python over AppleScript--especially if you are still learning--It's not that much harder to pick up, and it's a much better option IMO.

Dave
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 5.23.25 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 5.23.25 AM.png (31.44 KiB) Viewed 3423 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:23 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

In fact, you have to use Python. Custom devices (and their states) aren't available in AppleScript.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Jul 05, 2015 11:06 am
cdeggz offline

In fact, you have to use Python. Custom devices (and their states) aren't available in AppleScript.